How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Forum about Domotiga Open Source Home Automation for Linux.

Moderator: RDNZL

Post Reply
mrqnapper
Member
Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:08 pm

How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by mrqnapper »

How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga? I started with one device which worked only at 1 or 2 meters distance form the Aeon Z-stick. Since the z-wave network (devices) will work better if there are several, I added some new devices. Now how can I get these device also working on a further distance? I understood the magick is to optimize the devices/ network? But how can that be done in Domotiga?

Since I want to use some z-wave devices outdoor for outdoor light switching, it would be convenient if the reach is extended a bit further than only the 2 meters I have right now :)

Please share your best practises on this. Thanks a lot.

Wiechert
uAlex73
Member
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotoga?

Post by uAlex73 »

Currently there is no automatic procedure to do this, but you can do it manually per node. Execute the following steps:
- Click on "Tools"
- Click on "Z-Wave Commander"
- Click on the specific Z-Wave node
- In "Device" tab Click on "Neighbor"
DomotiGa / Z-Wave / RFXCom / Visonic PowerMaster / Home Assistant / Zigbee2MQTT / DSMR Reader / Toon1 (rooted)
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotoga?

Post by RDNZL »

Tssk... DomotiGa newbies :D :D
In fact you can call all public routines used in DomotiGa code directly from an event action script.
So to update the neighbors of your zwave devices you can do something like this:
Create an event with name "Optimize ZWave Network"
add a trigger of type: Time Now '55 23 * * *' (every day at 23:55)
Action: type: script
With contents:
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(2)
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(3)

To request this for node 2 and node 3.

Check OZW_Log.txt if it runs.

But there are plans to add a config value to ZWave settings so this is done behind the scenes.
Regards, Ron.
mrqnapper
Member
Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotoga?

Post by mrqnapper »

Ok Ron thanks, the way you describe it, it seems rather easy. Will give it a try. (Have done some testing with Homeseer in Winddoos but that did not really satisfy me for the moment). The only thing is though I updated Domotiga to the latest svn version and now when opening the Z-wave Commander. I get an error... [61] can not find symbol 'Domozwave_GetnodeManufacturerName in dynamic library libdomozwave CZWave.OZW_GetManufacturer and Model ..
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by RDNZL »

Make sure you update/copy code and recompile the OZW wrapper library too.
So:

Code: Select all

$ cd /home/<user>/domotiga/wrappers/domozwave
$ make
$ sudo make install
Restart DomotiGa
Regards, Ron.
mrqnapper
Member
Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by mrqnapper »

Ron, After updating the OZW Wrapper, gave it a try yesterday but received a syntax error on these lines in the script?

Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(2)
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(3)

Wiechert.
uAlex73
Member
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by uAlex73 »

Hi Wiechert,

Check also the following link:
http://www.domotiga.nl/issues/129

Somebody also tested it, and it seems to only work if you specify 1 line/action.

Regards,
Alex
DomotiGa / Z-Wave / RFXCom / Visonic PowerMaster / Home Assistant / Zigbee2MQTT / DSMR Reader / Toon1 (rooted)
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by RDNZL »

Just do this....

Code: Select all

Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(2) &
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(3) &
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(4) &
Main.hZWave.RequestNodeNeighborUpdate(5)

Code: Select all

2012/05/23 20:13:20 [Z-Wave] Requesting node id 2 to update it's neighbors.
2012/05/23 20:13:20 [Z-Wave] Requesting node id 3 to update it's neighbors.
2012/05/23 20:13:20 [Z-Wave] Requesting node id 4 to update it's neighbors.
2012/05/23 20:13:20 [Z-Wave] Requesting node id 5 to update it's neighbors.
Come on guys, be a little inventive :wink:
DomotiGa can do more than you think, if only we had a manual...
Regards, Ron.
uAlex73
Member
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How to optimize the Z-wave devices (network) in Domotiga?

Post by uAlex73 »

FYI:

This is implemented and working in 0.1.207 :mrgreen:
DomotiGa / Z-Wave / RFXCom / Visonic PowerMaster / Home Assistant / Zigbee2MQTT / DSMR Reader / Toon1 (rooted)
Post Reply

Return to “DomotiGa Forum”