Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Introduce home automation related software here.....

Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:11 pm

At the end of this month I want to release the first public version of HouseAgent, which is my home automation application.
I am looking for a group of beta testers. HouseAgent is designed to run on multiple platforms (Windows, Linux and OSX)
It would be nice to have testers on each of those platforms. Currently the following plugins are available:

- Z-wave
- Jeelabs/Jeenode
- Google Latitude

I will post some screenshots later on, so you get an impression of the current HouseAgent version.
Please drop a comment if you would like to beta test, please also mention your platform (Windows, Linux or OSX)
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby phoenixb » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:25 pm

Hi Maarten,

I'm able to run some beta test for you on a Linux or Windows environment (preferably Windows)
I have a small test environment where i have the access to Z-wave modules and a small setting of JeeNodes.

Grtz,
__________________
Online TOA system -> http://www.onweeractueel.nl
phoenixb
Member
Member
 
Posts: 484
Joined: July 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby mhn » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:26 pm

Hi.

I you just want someone to "play" with it, that could be me. :-)

I have Windows and Linux and Z-wave.

But time can be a problem. :-|

Regards
Morten
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby nico_gh2 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:03 pm

As I'm still setting up my home-system I could give it a go without disturbing anything on a windows system.
I'm only using zwave with the aeon-Labs stick and Everspring doorsensor103 and powerplug AN158, next week my HSM100 sensors will arrive (hopefully). Trying to get my weatherdata listed as well.


regards
nico
User avatar
nico_gh2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: April 2011
Location: Betuwe, Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby wwolkers » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:59 am

Hello Maarten,

I can test on linux or windows if you want. Got some jeenodes here running under domotiga at the moment, and got a plugwise set :)
What language did you make this software in? python I guess?
wwolkers
Member
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Digit » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:38 pm

I've got 5 JeeNode kits (viewtopic.php?f=15&t=6377&start=0) and some plugs laying around, so maybe I can help too :)
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:17 am

Thanks for all the reply's.
Here are some screenshots, as promised. Some look and feel might change before the first release.

http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub1.png
http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub2.png
http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub3.png
http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub4.png
http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub5.png
http://www.maartendamen.com/dev/ha_pub6.png

I will notify all of you above when the first release is ready! Thanks again.

Any OSX testers in the house?
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:20 am

wwolkers wrote:Hello Maarten,

I can test on linux or windows if you want. Got some jeenodes here running under domotiga at the moment, and got a plugwise set :)
What language did you make this software in? python I guess?


The software is indeed written in Python, hence allowing multi platform usage. The core is based on RabbitMQ (using the AMQP protocol)
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Rene » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:13 pm

Hi Maarten, I am interested to have a go too, although most of my devices are not supported at this time (Xanura, Oregon, Plugwise). Maybe I can add the code to support this hardware.

Where are you using RabbitMQ for?

Did you define a standardized protocol to communicate with sensors based on the JeeNodes?
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:29 pm

@Rene:
New plugins are always welcome! I think it is one of the key success factors. I am also working on Plugwise myself..
I'm using RabbitMQ for plugin<>master communication. RabbitMQ offers clustering/high availability so it's very scalable.
One plugin could for example "talk" to multiple RabbitMQ servers, or multiple master nodes can hook into the same RabbitMQ server.
I will describe plugin development on the HouseAgent project page (wiki): http://projects.maartendamen.com/projects/houseagent

I just put up a HouseAgent forum as well: http://www.houseagent.nl/
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Rene » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:33 pm

Does plugin development look like what we were working on before (Centipede)? In that case the plugin for a CM11a should be nearly finished ;-)
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Rene » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:37 pm

I just registrered on the forum so I could use my favorite user name ;-) Do you already have some documentation on the protocol you use to communicate with your JeeNode sensors? I am currently working the code and protocol for some sensors (including wireless registration and initialization of new sensors), so I can anticipate on that.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:38 pm

Not really, but I guess most code is still reuseable!
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby Mdamen » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:47 pm

Ill try to document those plugin pages asap.. a lot still to do though..
Mdamen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 390
Joined: November 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for beta testers to test HouseAgent

Postby wwolkers » Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:53 pm

Mdamen wrote:
Any OSX testers in the house?


Got a mac here I'm not using much, I can test on that if you want
wwolkers
Member
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Announcements & News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest