Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Everything about rooting Toons 1 and 2.

Moderator: marcelr

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby marcelr » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:48 pm

It's pinging google:

Code: Select all
$ nslookup 8.8.8.8
Server:      192.168.73.1
Address:   192.168.73.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
8.8.8.8.in-addr.arpa   name = google-public-dns-a.google.com.

But you're right, this hasn't been working for some time now. Your suggestion should be added to the rooting manual.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 934
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby mogwai » Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:35 pm

marcelr wrote:It's pinging google:

Code: Select all
$ nslookup 8.8.8.8
Server:      192.168.73.1
Address:   192.168.73.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
8.8.8.8.in-addr.arpa   name = google-public-dns-a.google.com.

But you're right, this hasn't been working for some time now. Your suggestion should be added to the rooting manual.


Thanks for your quick response. Pinging google probably doensn't hurt. Then I'll just skip the modification of hosts altogether...
mogwai
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: August 2018

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby martenjacobs » Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:51 am

Gleno0hh wrote:
TheHogNL wrote:Did you use the Toon Rooter on https://github.com/martenjacobs/ToonRooter ?

Tried, didnt work with raspberry 1a. Actually, nothing worked with the 1a, see my previous post. After using a model b, it was easy. I believe with the model b it gave me a import error on pyserial with toonrooter.


I've made some changes in my dev branch so it should now work on RPi 1 as well. Make sure you do a git checkout dev after cloning the repo. I'll merge it into master as soon as I get some feedback that it's working or when I have the time to test it myself.
martenjacobs
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: March 2018

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby msv » Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:26 pm

Hi guys,

I have an fully rooted Toon i try to change the root password.

If i change the password with command passwd i am able to set an new password, thereafter i exit the console and i am able to login with the new password.

If i reboot the Toon i can only login with the old password.

What is going wrong here?
msv
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 2010

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby yjb » Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:21 am

Have a look at the timestamp of the /etc/passwd file.

Did you root it yourself or is the unit "preowned"? Might be that there is an init script which copies the old password file over the existing one, I guess to make sure that the password is not changed by Eneco.

I would expect that there is some where a backup copy hanging around of the passwd file search with
Code: Select all
find / -name passwd* -print

And see if it matches your passwd file after a reboot.
yjb
Member
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: April 2009
Location: Venhuizen, Netherlands

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TerrorSource » Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:43 am

msv wrote:Hi guys,

I have an fully rooted Toon i try to change the root password.

If i change the password with command passwd i am able to set an new password, thereafter i exit the console and i am able to login with the new password.

If i reboot the Toon i can only login with the old password.

What is going wrong here?


Can you check if you have multiple passwd files? Had that issue once before. It created version/temporary copies of the passwd files. Reason why is still unknown.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Cctl01 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:00 am

Am I correctly understanding that the only way to make Toon adapt to a new house (bought second hand) is to perform a factory reset? On the official toon forum different people seem to think differently.
secondly, am I correctly understanding that a factory reset will only make me lose my schedules etc. Not the root access ssh keys etc?
Cctl01
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 2018

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby marcelr » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:08 pm

Can't see any reason why you would want to do a factory reset.
And adapting to a new house? What does that mean?
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 934
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby TerrorSource » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:02 pm

marcelr wrote:Can't see any reason why you would want to do a factory reset.
And adapting to a new house? What does that mean?


Well, I recommend a Factory Reset when moving to a new house so the meter values are resetted. Easiest way to do that.
Also, when buying a Toon 2nd hand, a factory reset is the way to go to remove the info of the previous owner.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Cctl01 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:47 am

marcelr wrote:Can't see any reason why you would want to do a factory reset.
And adapting to a new house? What does that mean?

Obviously I was not clear explaining what I want to achieve.
I would like (unless it happens automatically) to have Toon reinitiate the self learning process. Stookgedrag, zelf lerend if you wish in Dutch.
what options do I have in this matter? Is it as simple as overwriting some file perhaps?
Cctl01
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 2018

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby marcelr » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:21 am

It's a continuous process, no need to restart anything.
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 934
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Cctl01 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:37 am

marcelr wrote:It's a continuous process, no need to restart anything.

Thanks for clarifying that. Now that I think about it, it makes sense since heat-up- and cool-down-rate is different is autumn, winter and spring.
Cctl01
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 2018

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby marcelr » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:32 pm

Yep, it's called controller auto-tuning. The whole "inleren" thing is just a transient of that tuning process. Some forum members at the toon forum were adamant that it needs to be set/reset to start the process. Ignorant fools :roll:
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 934
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Postby Rudolf » Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:07 am

I started using my Toon this summer; would be pretty cold :( here if it hadn't adapted to new (outside) temperatures by now.

Good thing it's continuous process. Would be quite tedious to reset Toon every season. :lol: :mrgreen: :lol:

Stay warm! :wink:
Rudolf
Member
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: December 2017

Previous

Return to Toon Rooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest