Rooting Toon (or boxx)

Everything about rooting Toons 1 and 2.

Moderators: marcelr, TerrorSource, Toonz, TheHogNL

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:17 pm

Looks good.
Opkg packages (binary and library) haven't been updated since the beginning of toon, so that should not be an issue.
wget hasn't changed either.

So, the error should be somewhere in the transfer of the file from wherever to your machine.

Try this:
wget used http, can you change to port 80 instead of 21 (which is ftp)

and this:
Can you check the md5sum before transfer to toon, and afterwards?
On your synology, and afterwards on toon, like this:
Code: Select all
toon:~# md5sum dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ipk
0385737390810f2b1bca1b25977821fc  dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ipk
toon:~# ls -l dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ipk
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root        125704 Feb 28  2016 dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ipk
toon:~#
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby Marijn » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:07 pm

Via port 80 I get error 404.
Code: Select all
eneco-001-xxxxxx:~# wget http://192.168.1.5:80/public/dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ip
k
--2017-03-05 19:51:12--  http://192.168.1.5/public/dropbear_2015.71-r0_qb2.ipk
Connecting to 192.168.1.5:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2017-03-05 19:51:12 ERROR 404: Not Found.


I tried also the link to the forum but then I get:
Code: Select all
eneco-001-xxxxxx:~# wget http://domoticaforum.eu/download/file.php?id=2987
--2017-03-05 20:06:32--  http://domoticaforum.eu/download/file.php?id=2987
Resolving domoticaforum.eu... 84.27.103.252
Connecting to domoticaforum.eu|84.27.103.252|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 301 Moved Permanently
Location: https://www.domoticaforum.eu/download/file.php?id=2987 [following]
https://www.domoticaforum.eu/download/file.php?id=2987: HTTPS support not compiled in.
Marijn
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: July 2013

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:32 pm

What if you use port 21 and switch off passive mode and filename globbing in wget:

wget --no-glob --no-passive-ftp http://wherever-you-want-to-get-stuff-from:21/stuff
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon as a domotica controller?

Postby Distefano » Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:17 pm

Hello,

First of all thank you for publishing this information in the internet. I have a Toon but no subscription to Eneco so I would love to use it for more then the current simple functions.

I started reading this forum on Sunday. I read all the threads about Toon so far. When i read the manual I have a question regarding the cable mentioned (Antratek). I ordered this cable and received it today.

Do i have to modify this cable? As it states that only 3 pins should be connected. Maybe I did not understand this part but the cable from Antratek has 6 pins as far as i can tell.

EDiT: (marcelr) moved to rooting thread.

I have found this cable which looks like it would work out of the box:

https://www.sossolutions.nl/usb-to-ttl- ... Gwod8zUJIQ

Will try that one.

Will keep the antratek cable in plastic.
Last edited by Distefano on Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Distefano
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:48 pm

Yes. You will need to dislodge GND, TxD and RxD from the 6-pin header and connect them separately to toon.
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby TechApprentice » Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:15 pm

Help needed!

I am trying to root my Toon but am stuck at entering the password.

I connected my 3.3V serial to usb adapter and applied power the Toon. After switching the Rx and Tx around (as was mentioned in the manual) I could see the boot up sequence of the Toon. I am using putty for this. In the windows device manager and in putty I have set the com port to 115200 8N1. It appears I have the R8 version of U-boot, so on the next power-up I tried to paste the password. But no mater how often I try (Ctrl+V and Enter), Toon continues with the regular startup process.

I ordered my 3.3V serial adapter especially for rooting Toon, so I have not tested this on any other devices. I did test with other serial adapters from a friend (all 3.3V) but the result is the same. I even tried a different windows PC. I am planning to test my adapter using a scope to see the signal levels, but I did not have acces to a scope yet.

What could be wrong? If I have destroyed my serial interface on the Toon can I still root it trough JTAG? For this I will probably try to use a RaspberryPi B1 that I have laying around.
TechApprentice
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:40 pm

Hmmm ... I'm no expert on Windows software (wouldn't touch it with a 10 ft. pole ;-) )

Looks like your settings are correct, and the serial interface works. Be sure to enter the password on time (the time window is very short).
You might also try to use your raspi with the serial interface and minicom. Just <left-click> select the password, and <centre click> it into the serial shell. Works for me every time (although I use a normal laptop computer for it, but that shouldn't make a difference).
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby TechApprentice » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:23 am

Victory! Using minicom on a macbook entering the password worked the first try. :D

I followed the Dutch part of the manual, as this was a little easier to understand for me. I found a small difference with the Englisch version that slowed me down (just a little bit :) )

in the firewall sections the path to the iptables.conf:
- Englisch version: /etc/default/iptables.conf
- Dutch version: /etc/iptables.conf
The Englisch is correct I believe.

And also when rerouting the ping the manual states hosts.template. In fact it was just the hosts file (latest firmware (unfortunately))

Now its time for me to read up on how to get my energy usage into Toon as my meteradaptor does not support my smartmeter (version 0401 meteradaptor). And if and how I can get the boilerstatus working in this firmware vesion.
Thanks for all your work in making this posible.
TechApprentice
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby TerrorSource » Fri May 05, 2017 8:04 pm

Hi Guys,

Rooted my Toon today with some help of marcelr but i'm missing some options as far i as i know of.
I want to connect 1 of my Fibaro plugs to the Toon to test things out but i cant find the "Plugs" option.
Or is it because it's not connected to my P1 or boiler? Using it as stand-alone to test things out before i'm going to use it permanently.

Image

This is the subscription menu:
Image

EDIT: After running "killall -9 qt-gui" a few times a few apps showed up. Going to configure all in globals.qml and running the command again.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby odelay99 » Thu May 11, 2017 12:43 pm

I want to root my toon as well but the suggested cable from Antratek cost 25 euros. Does anyone knows if this cable will also do the job: https://www.adafruit.com/product/954
thanks!
odelay99
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Thu May 11, 2017 5:17 pm

Should work.
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby TerrorSource » Sat May 13, 2017 3:18 pm

Cant get x11vnc to automatically start at startup of the Toon, even with Marcelr's help.

Code: Select all
vi /etc/init.d/rc.local


Then put this in de file:
Code: Select all
#! /bin/sh
/usr/bin/x11vnc

:wq! to save+quit

Make file executable:
Code: Select all
chmod 755 /etc/init.d/rc.local


after reboot, x11vnc wont start. still need to cmd "x11vnc" via ssh.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby marcelr » Sat May 13, 2017 3:26 pm

Hmm, there's a lot of other stuff in my rc.local. Maybe it's a timing issue in the startup process. I will check the startup scripts, to make sure that x11vnc starts after the qt-gui is configured and started.
May take some time.
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby TerrorSource » Sat May 13, 2017 3:31 pm

marcelr wrote:Hmm, there's a lot of other stuff in my rc.local. Maybe it's a timing issue in the startup process. I will check the startup scripts, to make sure that x11vnc starts after the qt-gui is configured and started.
May take some time.


Well, i dont mind to ssh and cmd "x11vnc" but a friend of mine who's still in the "testing-apps" phase would like it to work at startup.
Also, when it's working, future root-ers will have a lot of profit of it.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: May 2017

Re: Rooting Toon

Postby odelay99 » Sat May 13, 2017 4:32 pm

I got the Toon, got the cable (thanks marcelr for your answer on that one!)
So I want to get started with rooting my Toon, it is brand new. Should I follow the installation wizard first and connect to the wireless network or is it better start to the rooting process directly without configuring it first?
odelay99
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2017

PreviousNext

Return to Toon Rooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest