Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Everything about external control, apps, VNC, etc goes here.

Moderators: marcelr, TerrorSource, Toonz, TheHogNL

Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby dacronic » Wed Feb 26, 2020 11:34 am

Hi,

I noticed a watermeter on the producer of the Toon:

https://www.quby.com/products-services

Is it possible to get this on Toon (rooted)
dacronic
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: February 2020

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby TheHogNL » Wed Feb 26, 2020 5:51 pm

Yes but you need a specific meteradapter. The once used in NL are not compatible as it seems. You need a Boxx (belgian Toon) meteradapter. We lack more information about this.
Just need to wait until production is launched in NL so we can adapt this also.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby Joskep » Fri May 22, 2020 10:06 pm

Hopefully it.s soon possible, should be very nice

I read this topic:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/vitensinno ... eneco/amp/

Edit:
Via domotica its already possible:

https://ehoco.nl/watermeter-uitlezen-in ... on-script/

and it looks nice!
Should be nice if you can see the water ussage just by putting the energiesensor (analogue) on the (analogue) watermeter ;-)
Joskep
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby TheHogNL » Sat May 23, 2020 8:18 pm

I got myself a Boxx metermodule (compatible to measure water for the Toon) a few weeks ago. And yes it works. So I have water flow and water quantity in my Toon visible. But I notice that the water quantity measured is a bit off. Probably to a misplaced sensor on my watermeter.

But then again... it is really not that special. I notice I don't look at the water data as often as I do at the electric usage/production data.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby TheHogNL » Sat May 23, 2020 8:18 pm

I got myself a Boxx metermodule (compatible to measure water for the Toon) a few weeks ago. And yes it works. So I have water flow and water quantity in my Toon visible. But I notice that the water quantity measured is a bit off. Probably to a misplaced sensor on my watermeter.

But then again... it is really not that special. I notice I don't look at the water data as often as I do at the electric usage/production data.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby Joskep » Sat May 23, 2020 8:37 pm

Okay, i think i also would like to have that.
Via Domoticz or simmilar to the movie i posted ?
Because i have two sets of solarpanels and an anlogue meter i never use the tile of electricity ;-) It.s not accurate because of the fact its moving backwards.

Can you advise how to make it work on the Toon?

Do i have to buy an Belgian Boxx metermodule and put it in the module i use now? In stead of gas or electric?

If you don.t use i would like to buy it from you otherwise ;-)

edit:
Like this?
https://youtu.be/oX0iH-GrfOo
Joskep
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby marcelr » Sat May 23, 2020 9:10 pm

Yup, that one.

When you get one, just hook it up to your toon, and configure for water measurement. Works out of the box.

But the success of the installation is very much dependent on the type of water meter that you use. For mine (an Elster from Brabant Water) I installed the pulse generator (also from Elster) that fits the meter. The pulses are subsequently converted to toon-friendly pulses by a raspberry pi (the one that also massages my S0 data from my power inverter to keep Zon-op-Toon happy) and sent to the meter adapter. Works.

The water data aren't very exciting. Maybe nice if you run a BnB, to see what your guests are doing, but otherwise: Mwah ...
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby Joskep » Sat May 23, 2020 9:27 pm

Thanks! If somebody can give a tip (PM also okay) ...i can.t find them on marketplaces, stil looking at Belgium markets
Joskep
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby marcelr » Sat May 23, 2020 9:32 pm

The boxx-version of Quby's thermostat hasn't quite reached the level of market penetration that toon has. Keep an eye on 2dehands.be, but you may need to buy a complete system (after which you can flog the display etc. again). And, for the time being, Belgium is a far away country right now. Not sure when access limitations will be lifted again.
marcelr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby Joskep » Sat May 23, 2020 9:38 pm

Thanks! I will keep looking -:)
Joskep
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby TheHogNL » Sun May 24, 2020 7:51 am

Joskep wrote:Thanks! I will keep looking -:)


https://www.2dehands.be/a/doe-het-zelf- ... staat.html

Seems that contains the correct module (the one left on the photo).
The one on the right is a 'ketelmodule' for the boxx. Will probably just work here also (I understand it has opentherm also).
The one between the poweradapter and the toon is a kWh laser meter. As kWh meters in Belgium tend to be installed behind plastic covers there is no way to install a led sensor. So they use a distance (laser) sensor to measure the led on the kWh meter.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: August 2017

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby Joskep » Sun May 24, 2020 10:00 am

Thanks! I contacted him already, unfortunatly only the complete set ;-(
For only the water sensor thats a little bit too expensive.

Maybe then use an RPI , have got a few of them ;-)
Nice project for an rainy day.

I think its the most beautiful to have an own 'water tile'.
Joskep
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby NLKris » Mon May 25, 2020 2:17 pm

So somebody asked me also about the water meter. If you have the dutch 'Meetmodule' with a 'Slimme meter' over the P1 poort. Isn't it an ideal to use an analog sensor for water?

Just the way like Zon op Toon is working, but than a menu in TSC for water over the analoge meter?
NLKris
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: January 2019

Re: Toon water usage (available on Quby site)

Postby TerrorSource » Mon May 25, 2020 2:53 pm

NLKris wrote:So somebody asked me also about the water meter. If you have the dutch 'Meetmodule' with a 'Slimme meter' over the P1 poort. Isn't it an ideal to use an analog sensor for water?

Just the way like Zon op Toon is working, but than a menu in TSC for water over the analoge meter?


Dutch Meteradapters do not work with Water as far as we know at the moment.

It is possible to get it working with a BE meteradapter and an analog sensor.
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 400
Joined: May 2017


Return to Toon external control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest