Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Forum All about Webcams, IP Camera's & Camera's (hardware, software, pan tilt zoom etc).

Moderator: Esteban

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Snelvuur » Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:20 pm

i was waiting for my din plug, to create my own cable for the axis 241q towards the sony ptz. You know i have the 241q for some time now, and its suppose to come in tomorrow. Not the quickest ..
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Bwired » Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:33 pm

Oke which sony pan tilt & zoom camera do you have?
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5295
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Snelvuur » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:33 am

The evi-d100
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Bwired » Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:03 am

Great camera, I use one myself. Just don't put it behind a windows which is situated on the south side else it won't last for a couple of years. I have 3 Sony Evi-d100 camera's and 2 of them are defected by the heat. The Sony Evi-D30 does not have this problem I think because it a more robust one. I now installing the Sony EVI-D70 lets see what this one does!
Are you connecting the visca directly on to the Axis 241Q or on a rs232 port of your pc, I have connected them on to my pc.
Regards Pieter
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5295
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Snelvuur » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:07 pm

i will be using this one on the 241q <-> d100. I have a schematic up on http://wiki.binkey.nl/Sony-rs232 which should do the trick. I was waiting so long for the 8 pin one. Its now in front of my window, but i intend to place it in the future somewhere else, dunno how to place it in my new house. Cant put it outside, or behind a window (not alot to turn) maybe on the back, with more windows but if the sunshades go down, it cant see much.
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Bwired » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:13 pm

I have been reading about the scripts to control the Sony through the Axis that they are not working that good.
Lets hear where you com up with.
Good luck
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5295
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Snelvuur » Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:22 pm

I wanted to make my own cable like the other link.

I'am not that big noob in using a solder iron. But this is pretty screwed up.
Image
As you can see in the picture, its very close to eachother.. How the hell can you still put some cables in it, without making a mess? I cant see how i can attach 5 cables to it without screwing up. The rs232 came with nice screws which is really easy. I must have ordered a bad db9 connector because this really doesn't work for me.

Or am i doing something wrong?


// Erik

http://www.binkey.nl
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Digit » Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:09 pm

Nope, you're not doing anything wrong here... Just do it.
I managed with 15W soldering iron, very thin solder wire and solid core cable. (excuse my english vocabulary).

But i must admit, for me this VISCA plug was the trigger to finally buy one of those lamps with built-in magnifying glasses; somehow my auto-focus doesn't seem to work anymore when my eyes are in macro-mode...[:D]

Digit.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Connecting Sony EVI-D100 EVI-D30 to the AXIS 241Q

Postby Bohatyaor » Wed Apr 27, 2016 10:55 am

I cant see how i can attach 5 cables to it without screwing up. The rs232 came with nice screws which is really easy. I must have ordered a bad db9 connector because this really doesn't work for me.???
lol
Bohatyaor
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 2016


Return to Webcams & Camera Stuff Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest