cost effective

Forum about Domotica, home automation and saving energy.
DMR1712
Starting Member
Starting Member

cost effective

Post by DMR1712 »

Hello everyone,

I was just wondering (I'm a complete newbie in case you're wondering): Is domotica cost effective in relation to energycontrol?

in other words, if i invest in all kinds of energy-effective stuff, do I ever profit from that (moneywise).
(I also see the benefits for the environment, don't get me wrong, but I was just wondering)

Thanks!
Best,
DMR
AshaiRey

cost effective

Post by AshaiRey »

No, you probaly won't But let me ask you a question.
Do you ever profit from that large LCD television set you (hopefully) have? Did you have the same questions when you bought a car or a fridge?
DMR1712
Starting Member
Starting Member

cost effective

Post by DMR1712 »

Good call. I was a little too much focused on the "saving energy" bit and not seeing the big picture = the advantages it can bring.

thanks!
erisan500

cost effective

Post by erisan500 »

It may save you money in the long run, if you are able to identify where you are spending alot of money (elec/gas/water).

For example, after i setup our water monitoring, i discovered that one of my kids was consuming 250 liters of water to take a single shower. :/

Greetings,
Eric
DMR1712
Starting Member
Starting Member

cost effective

Post by DMR1712 »

you gotta love those long showers.. [:D]
Tozz

cost effective

Post by Tozz »

I think it is save to say that as soon as you start to buy stuff in order to save electricity you wont benefit from it money-wise. For example, I have 19 Plugwise plugs. That is something like EUR 900,-. Simple X10 in-wall modules to turn off lights costs alot more then I'll be able to profit from.

Since I have Plugwise plugs i have some HS Events to turn stuff on and off which saves me max. 20 Watts. That is 175 kWh/year. At a cost of EUR 0,20 / kWh I'll save EUR 35,- a year. That is a ROI of >25 years.