YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Forum about Domotica, home automation and saving energy.

YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:27 pm

A new product from the Dutch market is the YouLess(.nl).
Not quite expensive because of the missing display instead of other products (mostly of the time on a non interesting frequency).
For a price of € 79,- you will receive the sensor (for both analog and slim-meters) and a usb and network cable.
I think the advantage is that the data update is every 60 seconds. Some other products have an update each 30 minutes.
I like to see 'realtime' data.

At this moment there is a desktop widget available and an ios app. Android will be soon available according the website.
They also working on a API, so a data interface to Homeseer should also be possible in the future.
Attachments
YouLess.jpg
YouLess.jpg (30.19 KiB) Viewed 17238 times
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby freakstar » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:14 pm

Ordered!
freakstar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: September 2011

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:30 pm

Me to. I'm also very curious about the usb data connection. In some way this should be added to Homeseer.


@20-02, 22:20 hrs: Sunday afternoon 1 item ordered. Monday 22:10 hrs track&trace number confirmed.
Attachments
YouLess2.jpg
YouLess2.jpg (13.63 KiB) Viewed 17208 times
Last edited by Rutger on Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:38 pm

What I've found until today about receiving the data stream:
http://wiki.td-er.nl/index.php?title=YouLess
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby AshaiRey » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:29 am

Please note that this device can't record the amount of energy that you deliver back when using solar panels. (terugleveren)
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Henk » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:51 am

My comments:

It seems that the USB connection is only in use as a power supply.
You need a cabled UTP connection.
It seems this device will have only one optical sensor to read out the disc or flashing led of the electricity meter. (it is not listed in the part list)
Be aware not all meters with a disc can be handled by an optical sensor depending on the design of the sensor and adjustments.

Not clear and i assume it is not possible to collect data on gas consumption or P1 port.

So it is an in between solution , meters with P1 will be the future.

Henk
Henk
Member
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: May 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby freakstar » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:39 pm

Had contact with the supplier, they are planning an firmware update or another device for gas monitoring.
freakstar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: September 2011

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:29 pm

This morning the YouLess was delivered finally.
It was send in a very small box which could be put thru the mailbox.

The youLess itself, a long usb cable with EU plug and a short utp cable is delivered. Also a simple but colorful 1 page manual for the basis steps.

At this moment I've an analog powermeter, and to get best input level (read: the highest light intensity for the sensor), I've to spend almost an half hour (for me 29 minutes too long..) to get it right.
What is the right input value? between 6 and 80% according the manual, in my case around 70% so I'm satisfied at this moment.
The input value drops around 40% when the little black stripe comes around because this color isn't reflective. This pulse is also visible in the realtime online config with a small black dot.

Now I've to check the YouLess counter with the counter of the analog powermeter the next days.

The get data from it, it's indeed via the UTP connection.
Attachments
YL1.jpg
YL1.jpg (19.22 KiB) Viewed 17108 times
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby vanisher » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:00 pm

How can it measure actual usage?

I'm curious if you can get the data into homeseer.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:23 pm

Actual usage? You have to add the quantity of pulses for each kWh. On your powermeter there is a code visible like C=375.
So 375 pulses for each kWh. In some way you can calculate the actual usage in Watt.

I'm also curious about the get the data in Homeseer. On the YouLess website you can find also an Excel import tool. Maybe I can use the macro for some way to get the right info, I'ven't tried it yet.
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby freakstar » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:35 pm

My actual usage is a bit high, 4500 Watt :lol: Compared with my Plugwise i don't believe this, but the configuration looks ok. Strange.

[edit]Ah, 10000 pulses per kW.

Will look further at it tomorrow, but first impression is nice and simple.

Input from my digital (LED) meter varies from 0 to 99% by each pulse.
freakstar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: September 2011

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby yellowbird » Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:17 pm

vanisher wrote:How can it measure actual usage?

I'm curious if you can get the data into homeseer.


I use a simple script to get it into homeseer.




Imports System.Net

Sub Main(parm as object)
Dim strUrl As String = "http://192.168.1.230/a?f="
Dim devIdCurrent As String = "A8"
   Dim devIdTotal As String = "A9"

Dim request As WebRequest = WebRequest.Create(strUrl)
Dim response As WebResponse = request.GetResponse()
Dim data as String = new System.IO.StreamReader(response.GetResponseStream()).ReadToEnd()

Dim s1 As Integer
Dim e1 As Integer
   Dim pwr As Integer

s1 = data.IndexOf("pwr") + 5
e1 = data.IndexOf(",", s1)

pwr = Convert.ToInt32(data.SubString(s1,e1 - s1))

hs.SetDeviceValue(devIdCurrent, pwr)
hs.setdevicestring(devIdCurrent, pwr.ToString() & "W")

s1 = data.IndexOf("cnt") + 6

pwr = Convert.ToInt32(data.SubString(s1,7).Replace(",",""))

hs.SetDeviceValue(devIdTotal , pwr)
hs.setdevicestring(devIdTotal , data.SubString(s1,7).Replace(",","") & "W")
End Sub
yellowbird
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 2012

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:59 pm

Your script works perfectly!!
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby Rutger » Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:59 pm

Hi Yellowbird,

Thnx for your script.
My counter have 3 digits behind the komma.
The youless counter is on 29661,544 kWh.
In Homeseer I see the value 296615. Your script have the komma 1 place too far to the right?
Do you have the same experience?
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: YouLess LS110 Energy Monitor

Postby freakstar » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:44 pm

Can you explaine more about the script? How do I implement it?
freakstar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: September 2011

Next

Return to Energycontrol & Home Automation Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron