Very Confused

Show or discuss your existing Home automation project here, so a detailed explanation!.....
redwings
Starting Member
Starting Member

Very Confused

Post by redwings »

I am very confused and as a newbie I would appreictae some help. I hope I am not asking a stupiud question...

I am in the process of building a new house and we are planning for a smart house/ home automation. I have been speaking with two vendors here. One is Lutron the other would be an Instabus/KNX supplier. Both seem reliable in terms of service and professionalism, but I am very confuse about some of the basics and I need some clear answers.

Can someone explain the difference between Lutron and KNX/Instabus. I know Lutron is a central processor based with proprietary technology and KNX would be component open standard. Does the KNX open standard translate into the lowest common denominator (as claimed by Lutron), or is that mean greater flexibility (as claimed by KNX)? Is Lutron only lighting control - on/off/dim or is it full integration. If KNX gives full integration (?) I assume that covers lighting as well, so why even consider Lutron? What advantage would Lutron have over the KNX/Instabus. ? KNX over Lutron?

Does the KNX provide for future expansion capabilities? I think there is a AMX controller included in the configuration. I f so, what impact does this have?
Lurton says they are the only ones that support IP. Is this really true? Is it even important? Is there more to Lutron than lighting control?

Are there any difference between the KNX software (ETS ) and that of Lutron ( Homeworks) ?

Although I initially will start with lighting control as stage one, I presume I will want to expand to audio and security as well and possibly other

Any input anyone can provide to clear the air for me would be greatly appreciated. I am just trying to make sense of all this.
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Very Confused

Post by Snelvuur »