Interface Research- think along!

Show or discuss your existing Home automation project here, so a detailed explanation!.....
usistudent
Starting Member
Starting Member

Post by usistudent »

Hello everyone!

I am a postgraduate student at the Technical University of Eindhoven in the Netherlands. I study User System Interaction, see link http://usi.tm.tue.nl/pub/page.php?pid=10.

I am looking for enthusiastic people like you guys to actively think along what would be a user friendly interface (for PC) for configuration and control of the electrical devices in your home.

Requirements: my focus group will be young parents between 30-40 years old, with max 2 kids between 0-10 years.

There will be three nice studies! You can participate in one of them.
1. The first study is this week and you can do it yourself in your home to get a better understanding of your natural behaviour and interaction in your home environment. You and your partner will also evaluate some visualisation concepts :)
2. The second one (for the ones who live in Holland) will be a very nice design workshop! This will be done at the university or in Amsterdam.
3. The third one (for the ones who live in Holland)will be testing the prototype and will also either be done at the university or in amsterdam.

The results will be used for a project I am doing for the company BeNext who are busy developing their product. So your input will be used in practice :)!

Do you belong to the focus group and are interested in participation? Please let me know as soon as possible!

Thank you all very much in advance!

Cheers Paula Deisz
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post by Snelvuur »

No kids here but.. if i where to make a design i would like it to be slick like apple normally does. Too much home interfaces are butt ugly. Take homeseer.com for instance, it does what you want but it looks like a 3 year old did the html design. (the normal layout that is)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
Bwired
Administrator