Receiving ELV door/window sensor data with mbed/rfm12

Show or discuss your existing Home automation project here, so a detailed explanation!.....
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Receiving ELV door/window sensor data with mbed/rfm12

Post by RDNZL »

I bought some nice door/window sensors from ELV almost a year ago.
They are cheap, look nice, but no support to read them was found, bummer :|
http://www2.conrad.nl/goto.php?artikel=616101

I believe they are the same ones as shipped with the thermostat controls.

Past weekend I started playing with the free mbed evaluation board I got via Elektor some time ago.
http://mbed.org/handbook/Tour

While looking for some nice project to build I searched the mbed site and stumbled upon a project from Charly, which you can find here.
mbed.org/users/charly/notebook/connecti ... ct-to-knx/
He has plans to connect the interface to his freebus hardware (KNX), a great idea.

(BTW: This site is an enormous source for electronic projects and info even if you don't have a mbed!)

So I build the circuit on a breadboard containing my mbed dev board, an rfm12bs (removed from a jeenode, sorry!) and a display I had laying around.

I kindly got the alpha code from him, loaded it, and it works!

Now I'm busy coding tcp socket code so I can access it from DomotiGa over the network, the lcd is just for testing.
The mbed has a buildin ethernet interface, so only a RJ45 socket needs to be added...
It has a zillion other ports and interfaces btw so Arduino/Jeenode eat your heard out. :)

I like mbed!
The code is not 100% error free yet, so more on this project will follow, either here or on domotiga.nl
Attachments
mbed breadboard v1.jpg
mbed breadboard v1.jpg (161.58 KiB) Viewed 6731 times
Regards, Ron.
jrkalf

Re: Receiving ELV door/window sensor data with mbed/rfm12

Post by jrkalf »

Ron if you want to know more about the protocol for this TF device check this site: http://fhz4linux.info/tiki-index.php?pa ... 20protocol