Creating a 1-wire bus

Forum about 1-Wire devices.

Creating a 1-wire bus

Postby vanisher » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:43 pm

What is the best method to create a one-wire bus with at least 14 DS18B20's with a Jeenode.
I want to measure the ingoing and outgoing temperature of the floorheating tubes.

What cable to use? Any best practices with connectors or something?

Soldering can be done but is not very flexible i'll guess.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: June 2011

Re: Creating a 1-wire bus

Postby Digit » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:56 pm

The legs of a DS1820 fit nicely into RC servo connectors (Robbe brand, in my case):
http://blog.hekkers.net/2010/06/08/new-sensor-shipment/
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Creating a 1-wire bus

Postby Stevexyz » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:52 pm

http://www.1wire.org/media/A_Guide_to_t ... _Draft.zip

This is not an official standard by Dallas or Maxim, it's a proposed one and it works perfectly for me. I use the 6-pin RJ-12 connections and colours so I don't get it confused with Ethernet :) but otherwise RJ-45 might well be better.

The Maxim site has some application notes about building a 1-wire bus, how to avoid reflections, that sort of thing.

Cheers, Steve
Stevexyz
Member
Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: December 2007
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Creating a 1-wire bus with HA7Net

Postby Verkenner » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:08 pm

HA7Net

http://www.embeddeddatasystems.com/HA7N ... _p_22.html

Works great with homeseer too.
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Postby gvdham » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:09 pm

That's a Nice solution, but is there a low cost solution that works with domotiga?
gvdham
Member
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: October 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Creating a 1-wire bus

Postby hellbringer » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:54 pm

Do they need to be programmable? I dont know if these are programmable, but if you need just temperature, I use a kit:
"PCsensor 1 wire miniLAN thermometer, 4 channels thermeter (1 W_D4)" from eBay -> link there is also a 8 sensor version: link
There is also a version that check humidity but I dont know if that is compatible, they use the same connectors but a different donge (I got the 'USB9097')
The seller is "chenmerhk" /website: http://pcsensor.com/

They use a standard 3,5" audio cable (with the standard audio 'jack' plugs) that you can get at any hardware or audio store.
I run Domotiga on a Raspberry Pi and interface them using digitemp (digitemp_DS9097U), simple, clean, cheap, no soldering required.
hellbringer
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 2013


Return to 1-Wire Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest