Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Forum about Questions, discussions and announcements regarding the Bwired website owned by Pieter Knuvers

Wireless Weightscale from Withings for Bwired

Postby Bwired » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:41 pm

Last week I received a WIFI (Wireless 802.11g) demo weight scale from http://www.withings.com.

The scale looks absolutely great and has a very nice design!

Image

Installing is very easy, just plugin the USB Cable go the withings website and follow the installation guide. The scale and router settings are automatically set from the website (WEP/WPA/WPA2-personal security)

You have a personal secure website with Withings and there is also an API tool available at
http://www.withings.com/en/api to get the data automatic from the website to your own environment.

I have been discussing this option with the supplier and asked him why not a sort of IP notification so geek like us can receive the readings realtime in our own applications or website. Withings promised this option to be available very soon (lets hope!)

There is also a free Iphone app available

ITO Invisible electrodes
Fat mass
Lean mass
Body mass index

Instant weigh-in by getting on the scale
Automatically turns on and off
Automatic user recognition
Comparison to reference values dictated by doctors

Image

Image

Check my blog also
http://www.bwired.nl/weblog.asp?id=337

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Pieter Knuvers
http://www.bwired.nl <i>Online House in the netherlands. Domotica, Home Automation.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Snelvuur » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:02 pm

Nice, i looked at this once, but there was no option to hook it up (you need there service) but then again for now there is nothing wrong with the oregon scale ;)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Alexander » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:19 pm

If i had this scale to test, i would sniff the traffic and look in to the packets that are send and if it's based on a FQDN destination host, i would write my own service and add the FDQN host in my DNS server.

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Digit » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:55 pm

Could have been my idea [:D]

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Robert
http://www.hekkers.net <i>Digit's Online Home.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Bwired » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:55 pm

Agree the Oregon has a direct link to my own system, but If the IP notifications comes......
@mgizmo: Tell me how to sniff my router and I will try, otherwise contact me.


<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Pieter Knuvers
http://www.bwired.nl <i>Online House in the netherlands. Domotica, Home Automation.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Alexander » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:08 pm

@pieter: Uh Fritz!Box? http://domoticaforum.eu/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3194#26497

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">network sniffer is default available: /html/capture.html<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Bwired » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:24 pm

Is it detailed enough, I have systools for my draytek router but is only giving me IPnr's and ports etc.

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Pieter Knuvers
http://www.bwired.nl <i>Online House in the netherlands. Domotica, Home Automation.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Digit » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:48 pm

I think you would need to look for DNS queries in outgoing connections for xyz.withings.com or other unusual hostnames with Wireshark. Although i'm not really good at these things that would be my first try.

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Robert
http://www.hekkers.net <i>Digit's Online Home.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Bwired » Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:52 pm

I tried wireshark but can't select my router with it :-(

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Pieter Knuvers
http://www.bwired.nl <i>Online House in the netherlands. Domotica, Home Automation.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Rene » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:41 pm

Do you have tcpdump available on your router?

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby mhn » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:59 pm

The problem with Wireshark is, you have to make your network traffic pass your Wireshark computer, unless you can make a monitor port on your switch/router.
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 394
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Digit » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:17 pm

Or put your Wifi Access Point and PC with Wireshark on the same collission domain, that should work i think (it used to)

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Robert
http://www.hekkers.net <i>Digit's Online Home.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Bwired » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:39 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by rklootwijk</i>
<br />Do you have tcpdump available on your router?

Rene.
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">No I don't
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5294
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby Rene » Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:44 pm

Maybe you can find some information about setting up a span or mirror port on your draytek (e.g. http://www.retrevo.com/r/23281bh938/29/Mirror/). Then you could run Wireshark on that port.

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Wireless Weightscale from Withings

Postby mhn » Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:48 pm

Hmm Wifi is a hub. It should work sniffing if Wireshark is on the same Access Point.

I don't know about encryption though.

(I am used to have access to the right places on the network. :-) )
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 394
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Next

Return to Bwired Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest