Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Homeseer Forum in het Nederlands (DUTCH forum)

Moderator: Ruud

Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby DJF3 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:24 pm

Hi,

For many years I've been running Homeseer in a Virtual Machine. (VMware Server 2.0 running on a Windows 7 64-bit host)
VMware Server 2.0 reached end-of-support status almost one year ago!
For some reason I feel like getting rid of it. Getting it running under Windows 7 was a *pain*.

http://www.virtualbox.org
Virtualbox however has many many updates and seems to be alive.

Q: Who has Homeseer running on Virtualbox? What are your experiences?

Q: Any alternatives?
User avatar
DJF3
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 888
Joined: July 2007

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Noel » Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:33 pm

Re: Any alternatives?

I'm using the free version of XenServer for all my VM's.
http://www.citrix.com/lang/English/lp/lp_1688615.asp
--
Maak nu je eigen video bericht online.
Anyone interested in time travel meet me here last Thursday!!
ıɟ ʇ,uɐɔ noʎ buıɥʇʎuɐ ʇɹɐʇs ɹǝʌǝu
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby christiand » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:47 pm

I am using vmware vsphere esxi 5. It works perfectly. Also esxi supports usb passthrough so you can use youre zwave stick or rfxcom.
christiand
Member
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 2010

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby TANE » Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:02 pm

just wondering will esxi run on a macmini?

My macmini is still running fine with Windows Xp...need to upgrade and like to do this virtual.

Also the same problem with Vmware server this is running on the XP macmini.
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Dickr43 » Tue May 01, 2012 2:12 pm

I'm running VMWare fusion on my Mac mini (OSX Lion). In Fusion I have a XP machine running Homeseer and Plugwise.

Don't know if ESXI will run native on the mini though. Any reason why you want to run it native and not on top of OSX?
User avatar
Dickr43
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Alexander » Tue May 01, 2012 2:18 pm

Dickr43 wrote:Any reason why you want to run it native and not on top of OSX?


resources i would guess.
Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Dickr43 » Tue May 01, 2012 2:26 pm

Could be one reason, all depending on the number of virtual machines one wants to use. I'm only using 2 XP machines virtual and that works great....
User avatar
Dickr43
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby TANE » Tue May 01, 2012 9:03 pm

Maybe better to use OSX as host..
My biggest problem in the past was no acces to the console in the past...there are now even Ipad apps for that part.
I have no monitor, keyboard or mouse attached to the macmini.
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Dickr43 » Tue May 01, 2012 9:17 pm

I'm using OSX screen sharing from Finder for that. Apple's Remote Desktop (not MS's version) is also very nice .....
User avatar
Dickr43
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Digit » Tue May 01, 2012 9:40 pm

Regarding alternatives:
I'm using MS Hyper-V for 4 years now and I'm very happy with it. It's hosting VMs of Windows 2003, Vista, XP, Fedora and CentOS and is very reliable.
No USB support for the guests, but for me that was no real issue.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Noel » Wed May 02, 2012 6:04 pm

christiand wrote:I am using vmware vsphere esxi 5. It works perfectly. Also esxi supports usb passthrough so you can use youre zwave stick or rfxcom.

I'm at the moment testing vSphere ESXi 5, but it's telling me that it will expire in 60 days! (60 days remaining on your evaluation)
Do I relly need to buy a "licens" after 60 days, or can I get (like XenServer) a "free" licens? The free licens will give me less options in XenServer.
--
Maak nu je eigen video bericht online.
Anyone interested in time travel meet me here last Thursday!!
ıɟ ʇ,uɐɔ noʎ buıɥʇʎuɐ ʇɹɐʇs ɹǝʌǝu
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby TANE » Wed May 02, 2012 6:23 pm

ESXi is in free and paid version...I thought that's only the support.


@Dick
I use Parallels on my desktop.
Have a Vmware Fusion 3 licenses somewhere.
Can you auto start the guest systems without login in OSX?
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Dickr43 » Wed May 02, 2012 6:42 pm

Don't know that, never tried. I just open Screen sharing on my mini from my Macbook whenever I want to do something on the VMWare envirinment.
User avatar
Dickr43
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby Noel » Wed May 02, 2012 7:15 pm

Okay.
I downloaded the wrong version :-p
The new downloaded version is free :-)
--
Maak nu je eigen video bericht online.
Anyone interested in time travel meet me here last Thursday!!
ıɟ ʇ,uɐɔ noʎ buıɥʇʎuɐ ʇɹɐʇs ɹǝʌǝu
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer on (free) Virtualbox instead of VMware Server?

Postby structor » Sun May 06, 2012 10:12 pm

Noel wrote:Okay.
I downloaded the wrong version :-p
The new downloaded version is free :-)

Your previous version was also free, you only needed to place the key at the right spot. I had the exact same thing :D
User avatar
structor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Homeseer algemeen Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest