Slow z-wave

Homeseer Forum in het Nederlands (DUTCH forum)

Moderator: Ruud

Slow z-wave

Postby christiand » Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:26 am

Since I migrated to an esxi 5 setup with a Windows Server 2012 VM for HomeSeer my z-wave commands are sometimes a bit slow. I wonder if this is because of the com port settings in Windows. De Aeon Labs Z-Stick 2 has a default com port configuration of 9600 baud. Is there a preferred default for the aeon labs z-stick?

Image
christiand
Member
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 2010

Re: Slow z-wave

Postby raymonvdm » Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:23 pm

Did you setup VT-D for the usb controller which holds the aeon-labs stick ?

The settings of my comport (also Aeon Labs no VMware anymore)

Bits 9600
Data Bits 8
Parity None
Stop Bits 1
Flow Control None

Did you also move the stick to another location in the house ? (Mine is hanging on the ceeling for better z-wave signal)
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: December 2011

Re: Slow z-wave

Postby christiand » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:57 pm

I have enabled vt-d. Added a usb controller and the usb zwave stick directly to the VM will try to relocate the usb stick more to an open spot with a 3m usb extension cable.
christiand
Member
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 2010

Re: Slow z-wave

Postby christiand » Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:25 pm

Since I relocated the usb stick the z-wave network seems more responsive. I am going to try to for a longer extension cable to have the stick more central in the house. Thanks for the suggestion
christiand
Member
Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 2010

Re: Slow z-wave

Postby raymonvdm » Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:06 pm

christiand wrote:Since I relocated the usb stick the z-wave network seems more responsive. I am going to try to for a longer extension cable to have the stick more central in the house. Thanks for the suggestion


I don`t think it needs to be more central. I just needs to be away from you system/psu/large metal casing

I just have it hanging on a cord to get it in this position (not my picture)

Image
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: December 2011


Return to Homeseer algemeen Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Momomx3v6 and 1 guest