Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Homeseer Forum in het Nederlands (DUTCH forum)

Moderator: Ruud

Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Postby DJF3 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:34 am

Hi,

NOTE: I still have to do more investigation but wanted to share this to get some feedback.

Screen Shot 2013-06-17 at 10.34.20 .png
Screen Shot 2013-06-17 at 10.34.20 .png (2.03 KiB) Viewed 2101 times


Yesterday my HS crashed (which is not a big problem as it will automatically restart/launch).
The problem however is that ALL devices were set to: ? Unknown

    1. What could cause such a crash that resets all devices to "Unknown"?
    2. Which information could I collect to find the cause of this crash?
    3. What could I have done to prevent this "Unknown" device status? (Power fail recovery stuff?)

Thank you!
DJ
User avatar
DJF3
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 887
Joined: July 2007

Re: Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Postby AshaiRey » Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:51 am

#1 I think this is more a case of bad luck. The file that holds the device state was just open at the moment of the crash
You probaly have to put back the devices.??? config file from your backup into the config folder.
(Sorry, i don't have a system here so i don't know te exact name. It's something with device in it)
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Postby DJF3 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:29 am

All devices were available, they just had the "Unknown" status.
User avatar
DJF3
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 887
Joined: July 2007

Re: Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Postby Rutger » Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:42 pm

I had this once after a reboot. After all devices received a new update everything was back to normal.
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homeseer crashed, devices all 'unknown'?

Postby AshaiRey » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:12 am

In the config folder there is a file called device_state.bin. Did you try to place a backup back of this file?
It should solve this because this file holds the current device state. If HS crashed while this is open or HS is writting to it then you device states are lost
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands


Return to Homeseer algemeen Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest