Reading Noise?

Forum about Rfxcom home automation Domotica devices.

Moderator: b_weijenberg

Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Reading Noise?

Post by Digit »

Hi all,

Maybe this is a very stupid question, but based on the topic about "Sensitive recievers" (http://www.domoticaforum.eu/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=147) i was wondering if there is any chance on actually doing something usefull with this "noise"?

I mean, i have a weather station here with an outdoor temperature transmitter that transmits its data to the indoor station. Can i pick up this data and do something usefull with it? Or is it very unlikely that data from these "unknown devices" can be interpreted and used?

Regards,
Digit
who is a complete newbie on Rfxcom stuff...
b_weijenberg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Reading Noise?

Post by b_weijenberg »

Hello Digit,

There are different types of “noise”. I will try to explain how it works in this free course ;-)

The receiver always picks up RF noise. This type of noise is comparable with the noise you see on the TV screen when you tune to a channel where no transmitter is active. So when there is no X10 sensor transmitting the RF receiver will receive this random noise and the microcontroller just behind the RF receiver will sometimes be triggered to start decoding.

The other type of noise is not really noise. This is real data received by the RF receiver but the decoding software in the microcontroller can’t decode it. Most sensors will transmit with a different protocol and a different type of modulation and the frequency can vary.
A protocol is defined by the number of bits, the length of the bit patterns, start bit yes or no and type of coding (NEC, Manchester…).
The type of modulation can be FSK, ASK, OOK. The RFXCOM receivers use the modulation type OOK and they are programmed for a dedicated protocol.