(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Forum regarding Linux Software and Home Automation Domotica.

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Merdeka » Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:57 pm

I think we al know this problem. We have a nice setup running Linux and we decide to upgrade something or install something new.

And we screw up our complete install. Happens to me all the time when I test stuff..

What I do now is just follow the steps on this site: http://www.ubuntugeek.com/creating-cust ... ersys.html

Using Remastersys I make backups to iso files. And when I break something I just burn the iso to an USB-stick using Ubuntu's USB Disk Creator and reinstall from this USB Stick.

I keep my data stored an a second harddisk so my typical ISO is around 1,5GB

Hope this helps anyone out.
Merdeka
Member
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: May 2009
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Snelvuur » Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:42 pm

Whenever i screw it up i fix it normally ;-) i have never reinstalled a linux machine because i "screwed" it up.. i always went for the "dammit, it has to work without reinstalling approach"

Or you can just install it on vmware, and make snapshots :)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Pieterpaul » Fri Sep 25, 2009 4:17 pm

Or you can just install it on KVM, and make snapshots [:)]
Pieterpaul
Member
Member
 
Posts: 145
Joined: July 2008
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby AshaiRey » Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:17 pm

Or use RAID0 and disconnect one drive when testing and let it rebuild afterwards if things go wong
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Noel » Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:03 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by AshaiRey</i>
<br />Or use RAID0 and disconnect one drive when testing and let it rebuild afterwards if things go wong
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">RAID0?? I think you meant RAID1

raid 0: http://www.raid.com/04_01_00.html
Not a "True" RAID because it is NOT fault-tolerant
The failure of just one drive will result in all data in an array being lost.


raid 1: http://www.raid.com/04_01_01.html
100% redundancy of data means no rebuild is necessary in case of a disk failure, just a copy to the replacement disk






--
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby AshaiRey » Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:48 am

Grumble!!. Why do they make those tiny keyboards or is it just my fat fingers. :0)

Raid-1 (Two disks in mirror on the controller)
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Noel » Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:04 pm

The 0 is (are on my keyboard(s) between) the 9 and 0.
The 1 is between the ` and 2.. Your's finger(s) must be really fat :-)

--
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby AshaiRey » Sat Sep 26, 2009 4:47 pm

You could check the num-pad. (Yes, you can hardly believe that but modern keyboards have that standard)
The 1 is above the big, double-sized key with 0 on it. :)
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

(TIP!) Backup Ubuntu to bootable USB

Postby Merdeka » Sun Sep 27, 2009 2:09 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by snelvuur</i>
<br />Whenever i screw it up i fix it normally ;-) i have never reinstalled a linux machine because i "screwed" it up.. i always went for the "dammit, it has to work without reinstalling approach"

Or you can just install it on vmware, and make snapshots :)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

Yeah, But trying out a new kernels and device support for DisplayLink screwed up my install real fast.

Putting everything back from the ISO I created before I started was a lot quicker.

And my girlfriend isn't always to happy when things break. We use our system to watch TV to, so it's not always convenient to work on it. Now I can just boot from my live ISO and she can watch here soaps again.

Or I just boot the ISO in my laptop and work on things from there.
Merdeka
Member
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: May 2009
Location: Netherlands


Return to Linux Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest