Windows 7 upgrade experience

Forum regarding Windows Software and Home Automation Domotica.

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby jruys » Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:40 pm

I upgraded my home automation system from Vista to Windows 7 home professional. Initial experience is ok, the upgrade went automatic and without errors.

Only issues after upgrade:

- COM port number of RS232 USB interface had changed, so had to change ACT TI103 settings
- RFXcom (Lan) virtual com port had disappeared, had to run CPR manager again

Plugwise, Homeseer and IRTrans all seem to work fine.

Obviously I'm very suspicious about this successful migration, will update the topic if I run into issues.

/JW

PS: Beware - Windows 7 home profession has no remote desktop server support. VNC is your friend for remote management.
jruys
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Snelvuur » Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:40 am

yeah no mstsc, i think its just bad that its not in the home version or similar. Only thing i want of the "higher" ones.. rest i dont care..

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Bastiaan » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:02 am

I have not heard of a "Home Profession" one.
As Far as I know it is
Home Basic
Home Premium
Professional
Ultimate
Enterprise

None of the "Home"versions has Remote Deesktop. You will need "Profesional" or higher for that.

I have tested HS with Win7 a few times and only had issues with the USB-> COM driver. IN my system used for Xanura and POPP Zwave stick. Trouble enough not to use it until they update that driver.
Haven't tried the "XP mode" under Win7 but that seems a step to far when you already have a stable XP running.
Bastiaan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Alexander » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:32 am

[offtopic]
Ultimate and Enterprise are the same. No difference in the software except the name. Enterprise is for companies with a SA contract.[/offtopic]

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby TANE » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:38 am

I'm sure there will be hack available for enabling RDP in the Home versions.
This was also in Xp and Vista.

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Enver
http://twitter.com/Chak64%20My%20Domotica%20Log%20www.tane.nl/domotica/hardware.html<i> My Domotica Hardware Software</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Francois » Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:43 pm

Ultimate and Enterprise are NOT the same:

Windows 7 Enterprise

This edition targets the enterprise segment of the market and will be sold through volume licensing to companies which have Software Assurance contract with Microsoft. Additional features include support for Multilingual User Interface (MUI) packages, BitLocker Drive Encryption, and UNIX application-support. Not available through retail or OEM channels, this edition will be distributed through Microsoft Software Assurance (SA). As a result it includes several SA-only benefits, including a license allowing the running of multiple virtual machines, and activation via VLK.[16]

Windows 7 Ultimate

Windows 7 Ultimate contains the same features as Windows 7 Enterprise, but unlike that edition it will be available to home users on an individual license basis. Windows 7 Home Premium and Windows 7 Professional users will be able to upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate for a fee using Windows Anytime Upgrade if they wish to do so. Unlike Windows Vista Ultimate, the Windows 7 Ultimate edition will not include the Windows Ultimate Extras feature or any exclusive features.

Francois
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Alexander » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:00 pm

Uh Francois, they are the same. Your C&P information concludes the same. What do you mean with aren't the same?

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Digit » Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:44 pm

I guess the name [:D]

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Robert
http://www.hekkers.net <i>Digit's Online Home.</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Bastiaan » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:14 am

Just one extra remark: Be aware: the W7 basic version does not support more than one processor, even in a virtualized enviroment it will only use one core. So it is OK for your ATOM set but for most desktops already too limited.
The good thing is, you can upgrade it within 10 minutes when you enter a different key. Tried it yesterday with the RTM version and it worked like a dream.
Bastiaan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:38 am

So a basic version of windows 7, on a duo core only uses 1 core?

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Alexander » Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:49 am

snelvuur: No, one physical cpu (unlimited cores): http://www.vista123.net/content/windows ... tm-version
can't find a MS page.

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Francois » Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:03 pm

Alexander,

if they were the same they would both be called Ultimate (the cooleset name) but there is a difference. You are correct to conclude from my previous post that functionality is the same, but have a look at :

Not available through retail or OEM channels, this edition will be distributed through Microsoft Software Assurance (SA). As a result it includes several SA-only benefits, including a license allowing the running of multiple virtual machines, and activation via VLK.[16]

So as a home user you will not be able to obtain this version.

Francois
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Alexander » Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:07 pm

That's a license difference. The product itself is the same.

Alexander
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1532
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Windows 7 upgrade experience

Postby Bastiaan » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:12 pm

I thought the basic version also would do duo core one a single processor system but in my virtualmachine, I had assigned two processors and it only accepted one, therefor very slow.
SO it might work on a physical dual core it certainly did not on VMware.
Bastiaan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands


Return to Windows Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest