Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Forum about LEDS, LED lights, DMX and other lights.

Moderator: Mversluis

Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:54 am

Hello,

I want to control some led-strips with homeseer. I read a lot on this forum but can't find the best solution clear...

Can somebody give me an advice, and explain some options? Also the prices?
I read about Chronoflex and DMX.

I don't have cables, want to control wireless.

Regards,
Kees
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby Akatar » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:39 pm

tane heeft een oplossing om via homeseer draadloos leds aan te sturen
Akatar
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: November 2007
Location: the netherlands

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:34 pm

Akatar,

Die heb ik inderdaad ook gezien, de Domation RF oplossing. Ziet er ook goed uit, maar ook niet heel erg goedkoop.

Ik heb sinds vandaag in ieder geval uitgevonden dat met een simpele aan/uit kaku schakelaar ook ledstrips te schakelen zijn. Is niet de mooiste oplossing, maar is een oplossing. Behalve voor RGB, dat weet ik.

Mogelijk heeft iemand nog een andere oplossing. Ook ben ik op zoek naar een site waar DMX in begrijpelijke taal uitgelegd wordt.
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby airox » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:46 pm

Kees,

If you want to go cheap and are willing to invest some time and get yourself familiar with the arduino/jeenode environment you could opt for the LED-node from jeelabs.
It would be 50 euros per LED-node and a one time investment for the Jeelink.

But again, it requires a lot of time :-)

I did this so I had complete control over the effects which the strips would generate. Creating a much better integration and creates some nice effects mimicking certain events in the house.

The topic: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=8294&start=0

Greetings,

Gijs
airox
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: May 2010

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:41 pm

Gijs,

I've read the stuff you told about, it looks impressive! But it's a few steps to high for me, I'm not an electrician and also not an programmer so this project is to difficult for me.... Poor me, because I like the price! But I don't see an solution in build my own Jeelab.

Thanks.
Kees
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:46 am

Kent iemand dit?

http://www.ebay.nl/itm/NEU-LED-RGB-RGBW ... 3ccde51abb

Lijkt op Chromoflex volgens mij?
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby airox » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:05 pm

Kees,

Watch out with the WIFI controllers. I also found them nice. BUT! They often create their own WIFI network on which you have to connect with your smartphone to control the LED strips. Some of these controllers have the possibility to configure to connect to your own WIFI network. Check if this option is included. Otherwise you won't be able to integrate them nicely into your home automation system (each strip then needs a seperate WIFI usb-stick or such).

And also check if they can be integrated at all :-)

Greetings!

Gijs
airox
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: May 2010

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:15 pm

Gijs,

The two things you talk about are just my questions ;-) I contacted the seller by mail, when I get an answer I'll share it here!

Regards,
Kees
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:02 pm

The answer:

At the moment it is possible to connect more than one controller thru the wifi module.
BUT you can controll the controllers only at ONE TIME. so separate sessions are not possible.

for the 2nd question, sorry, no way at the moment.
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby labium » Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:55 pm

i like the jeelabs solution , does the RFM12B 433 MHz communicate with rfxcom ?
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby airox » Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:05 pm

I don't know if that's possible. I am communicating with it using the Jeelink USB stick from Jeelabs. I use this to receive data from room nodes as well.

http://jeelabs.com/products/jeelink

You could also use a normal Jeenode attached to the USB port if you want. I send commands to it using unix commands like this:
echo "<command>" > /dev/ttyUSBX
airox
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: May 2010

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby raymonvdm » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:45 am

I`m using a Chromoflex controller for this. It is for sale at conrad for 31 euro`s

http://www.conrad.nl/ce/nl/product/181155/

I have connected it to an usb to comport converter on my HomeSeer PC, Someone made a HomeSeer plugin for this http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=152187


The LEDs are IKEA Dioder with a normal 12V transformer, because the standard transformer is not strong enough to power the Chromoflex controller

Image
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: December 2011

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby keeslamper » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:10 am

Raymon,

Thanks for sharing this option! One question: you control the LED strip thrue a static line, not wireless? In my opinion I need this one for wireless control?

conrad.nl/ce/nl/product/180749/RGB-stuu ... ing-7-26-V

Thanks for your option!

Regards,
Kees
keeslamper
Member
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: April 2012

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby Digit » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:09 am

Kees, don't forget to also order the USB dongle or the remote (both @ EUR 51,32)
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Vraag over Homeseer met LED-control

Postby raymonvdm » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:17 pm

Yes i use the wired on to cut costs. The wire between the controller and HomeSeer is 10 meter utp (one twist / two wires used )
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: December 2011


Return to LEDS, DMX & Lights Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest