Irtrans Wifi

Forum about hardware/software for the Philips Pronto TSU9600 and other remotes.

Irtrans Wifi

Postby TANE » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:25 pm

There is a new Irtrans Wifi version avilibile
Can be interesting for the locations where is no lan available.
Price is a bit higher than the lan version
LAN/Wifi 145/179 euro

http://www.irtrans.de/en/shop/wifi.php
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby Esteban » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:53 pm

Interesting, I wonder if the reaction time is the same or if there's a slightly longer delay over wifi.
Esteban
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 677
Joined: January 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby Snelvuur » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:41 pm

Ofcourse its longer, you will notice this the most when your "zapping" through channels.
// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby Esteban » Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:43 pm

Agreed, I'm just wondering if the difference is in the realm of 'barely noticeable' or 'damn that's significantly slower' as wifi can sometimes be quite snappy as well.
Esteban
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 677
Joined: January 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby Digit » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:11 pm

The specs say 802.11 bgn, so in theory it could also be faster. :)
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby TANE » Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:28 pm

Speed of IP is much faster that than IR can handle.
I'm sure it's fast.
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby leo » Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:05 pm

Does anybody has experience with this wifi IRtrans and do you need any additional parts to get it going and how to get the plug-in. In the homeseershop I've seen the WF2IR which can do the same and is much cheaper.
Which one of these two would be recommended?? :?:

rgrds, Leo
leo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: August 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby Jeroen Bartels » Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:26 pm

All I know most people here have experience with/use IRtrans.
So if you expect to need some help...
**Jeroen**
User avatar
Jeroen Bartels
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: July 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby TANE » Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:50 pm

WF2IR looks okay...also the Iphone/Ipad app looks great.
Enver Tanriverdi | http://blog.tane.nl
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby DrDoo » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:29 am

Hi Leo,

Did you already purchase any of these 2 products?
Im wondering what your experiences are.

Kind regards,
Michiel
DrDoo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Irtrans Wifi

Postby DrDoo » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:47 pm

It seems that WF2IR and IRTrans are not quite the same.

I've send the following email to Global Cache;
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,

I've got a quick question.
Im still deciding if i want to buy a WF2IR unit. I checked different online resources
but can't find an answer.

I can read that WF2IR unit has an IR learner built in.
But can this unit also relay IR to IP.
For example, press an IR remote button, and link that to a Homeseer event.

I know i can use an ipad/iphone to relay ip messages to IR through this unit, but is the other
way around also possible? So can it receive and relay IR?

Hope to hear from you.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Michiel,

Thank you for your interest in Global Caché! At this time, we have no mechanism in place for the iTach to
receive and relay IR in the way that you are thinking. Our on-board learner can be used only to capture IR commands.
Please let us know if you have any further questions.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So it seems the difference is that the IRTrans module can also receive IR signals and relay them to IP. WF2IR is just for learning codes
but other then that, IP to IR.

Are there any thinkable solutions where one would need IR to IP?
Maybe if you want to use a harmony remote to trigger homeseer lamp actions? (im not 100% sure my girlfriend would
accept an iPad/iPhone/Android as the only remote left...)
Any other things where it might be usefull to accept IR to IP?

Kind regards,
Michiel
DrDoo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands


Return to Philips Pronto (TSU9600), IRtrans and other remotes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest