TSU 9600

Forum about hardware/software for the Philips Pronto TSU9600 and other remotes.

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:55 am

If you are interested in a TSU9600 for =<650 euro
Please replay to this topic.
On markplaats is someone selling them...
He is willing to go down with his price if we can buy more units.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:53 am

Well we bought one, and this thing rocks! It has 2-way communication too, so depending on the state of a device, it can change your menu layout! I've gotten a slimserver client (mp3 server this is) and i can see on the pronto how far the song is, even browse through my albums! and thats beside the "common" controlling of every infrared device. You can also play with "if weather is higher then 30, then dont show heating" (and weather can be grabbed from a website then for instance) too much ideas pop up here. I think i can almost say "you name it, this thing can do it one way or another"

A heavy price, but the harmony just lost bigtime in my eyes. I'll try and get a video from the slimserver client to give you a better idea. Woohoo, i feel like a kid again.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:15 am

Okay...also the homeseer part is working fine.
For this part I use the prontronic plugin.
From the TSU I can simple push anything to homeseer events.
This makes the TSU9600 the best wall display what is available at the moment ..
There are lot of other WOW things on the TSU that I have to discover in the coming weeks..like MCE plugin, Ipod...music server...and lot more
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:17 am

Dont know about you, but i'am not going to use this as a wall display. It works perfect as a remote too.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:35 am

I will not use as a standard remote. It's to big.
but for events and macro's it's great...like controlling music server.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby MindBender » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:36 am

Still 650 Euro is a helluva lot of money for a remote control, no matter what it can do... You can buy a full featured PDA or even a laptop for that kind of money.

Though I have to admit: It looks great. And if it works the way it looks, I might get one myself... Are the MCE and HS plugin free?
MindBender
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 637
Joined: April 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:45 am

HS plugin is for free...you can download directly from homeseer.

MCE plugin is also for free..with the latest firmware you will get this one.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:32 pm

@Chak, i dont find it that big for a remote. My normal philips tv remote is pretty long, if i split it in 2, its the same size as the pronto. I really dont want to have 6 remotes lying around. And if i want an inwall display, i would go for a big one. Where you dont need a stylus for special buttons but just big old dumb buttons.. ;)

@mindbender, pda's are depleted (battery wise) faster then the pronto. And a laptop is too big. Dont forget, these things cost 1300 euro NEW. So in context its really cheap now, 1300 was too much for me aswell although i really liked it.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:32 pm

TV logo's for the TSU and other remotes

http://www.lyngsat-logo.com/tvcountry/nl.html
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:53 pm

nice, the only site i know with tsu9600 stuff is remotecentral.com , any other sites are welcome.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Digit » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:56 pm

I just decided to try and get me a TSU 9600 also.. it beats laptop, pda, touchscreen etc. And a decent speech control, which would be my ultimate way to control it all, is something that i can only dream of for the next couple of years...
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:01 am

Speech? there is no microphone on it if thats what you mean.. at least not that i know of, it does have sounds.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Digit » Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:07 am

No, that's not what i mean...

I mean, when thinking of ways to control everything you'd want to control, the first thing that comes tom my mind is speech. But i've been looking into that, and i don't think that i'll be able to accomplish that in let's say a year or 2. So, the TSU 9600 is second-best in that perspective.

So i'll keep on dreaming about(/working on?) speech control, but using the 9600 in the meantime...
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby Snelvuur » Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:16 am

ah, well i just installed "asteroids" on the tsu9600, working, slick, with sound and everything. And before that i made a small javascript thingy that grabbed a line from vid.nl (for traffic information) to put it on my screen. Went pretty smooth. But still need a lot to learn.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU 9600

Postby TANE » Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:56 am

look at this...

Eric thanks for the tip.!


Image
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Philips Pronto (TSU9600), IRtrans and other remotes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest