TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Forum about hardware/software for the Philips Pronto TSU9600 and other remotes.

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:59 pm

ma046, about the tsu 9400, its also a matter of taste, which do you prefer? and in our case it was also because the tus9600 where cheap at "marktplaats.nl" ;-)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:14 pm

TSU9400 screen is QVGA 320x240
TSU9600 screen is VGA 640x480

TSU9400 is not so small at it looks...you better check before buying
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Digit » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:13 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by DJF3-2</i>
<br />
You might have to find a way for your website to open a new window without the safari toolbar.

One more thing: is it possible to auto-start safari when you turn on the iPod Touch? Or does it show the browser if that was the last screen before it died?
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">You mention exactly the things i am going to look for first thing [:)]
To answer your question: When the Touch goes to sleep with Safari active and you wake it up again (is there a way to get rid of the unlocking?), you come back in Safari, with the same page where you were when it went to sleep.

Robert.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:21 pm

@Robert
how long will it take before you have wifi connection after sleep
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Digit » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:37 pm

For as far as my little experience goes:
i have the feeling it immediately starts connecting while you're unlocking the Touch. So by the time the Safari screen appears (i leave it open all the time), i can click a button on a webpage and the Touch seems to have already established connection, cause the WiFi indicator is all blue by then and i've never had any connectivity problems yet whatsoever.

I guess it takes about 2-3 seconds after unlocking to get a connection; but only when you try to set a new WR in Touch-unlocking.

Robert.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby TANE » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:42 pm

good News...:)
I'm going for hunting on e-bay..:)
This evening i saw few...devices going out for 260 euro.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Digit » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:08 am

@chak:
I could set up a match in Wifi-connecting between the Touch and Pronto later this week...that should give you a better idea maybe? Or do you know enough already.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby TANE » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:16 am

more info is welcome..:)
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Snelvuur » Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:35 pm

From my experience, the wifi connecting of the pronto is really fast. But the pronto does not need wifi (unless you use an extender) and i also think it will buffer it if it was not availible.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Digit » Wed Dec 26, 2007 1:52 am

Update:
The TSU9600 is too good to let go...
The iPod Touch is too nice to let go...

So i'm keeping them both.[8D][8D]

For now, i'm focussing on the TSU9600 for controlling everything that's in and around my house...it's the best i've seen so far.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Snelvuur » Wed Dec 26, 2007 1:33 pm

Agreed, i saw the ipod touch at DJF3-2 ;-) it looks really sharp. But the remote can do a lot of things, with an extender its extremly nice. If you make nice prontoscripts... *share* ;-)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Bwired » Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:08 pm

Hi Guy's
I joined the club as well, mine is coming in tomorrow.
Question, Why do you need the extender, If you can receive everything on TCP level of your network.
in my case I can control almost everything. Or am I not up to speed?
Pieter
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5304
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Snelvuur » Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:46 pm

If you also want to use it as a remote (infrared) and you have devices in a cabinet (or want to do that) and if you dont want to aim with it, since you dont really want to "aim" a big remote at your t.v. set, then the extender is really nice for that. You know, your girl normally presses all kinds of buttons while not aiming and saying "its rubbish, i dont want to use it" .. ;)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Bwired » Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:12 pm

OK agree, it should really be fool proof :-)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5304
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

TSU9600 vs iPod Touch

Postby Snelvuur » Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:18 pm

I even wrote some text on the device saying "your in watching mode, use this and this for the volume and this and this for going through channels) but i must admit, i have a but of rubbish setup at this moment. My wii for example does not go over the AV receiver, so i have to turn on the volume of the tv which is normally off (because its over the stereo). I also have to power off the dreambox, otherwise the sound of the t.v. channel is still coming over the AV receiver. Then i have to change the output of the t.v. to the Wii. Will fix this all in the new house with a new AV receiver. I didn't know for a long time you can buy a good AV receiver, which you can connect all your hdmi / video outputs, so it will change that too. (instead of using the t.v. sources)

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Philips Pronto (TSU9600), IRtrans and other remotes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest