Controlling a Sony PS3

Forum about hardware/software for the Philips Pronto TSU9600 and other remotes.

Controlling a Sony PS3

Postby Digit » Fri Apr 27, 2012 1:54 pm

We have a new game console in the livingroom since a day or 2.
And since we're used to control all A/V equipment (and more) with just 1 remote, I was wondering if anyone has managed to control his/her Sony PS3 with something else than the standard game controller - a TV remote perhaps or something else?
Tips are welcome! :)
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Controlling a Sony PS3

Postby labium » Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:32 pm

i thought a ps 3 uses radiosignals for communication with the controllers, not ir
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 485
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Postby Rene » Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:43 pm

The PS3 supports HDMI-CEC.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Controlling a Sony PS3

Postby Esteban » Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:28 pm

labium wrote:i thought a ps 3 uses radiosignals for communication with the controllers, not ir

Some form of Bluetooth

Digit wrote:a TV remote perhaps or something else?

The PS3 is a pain when it comes to control. There is a Sony bluetooth remote that exists.

A couple of related links:
http://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/stores ... r=PS398046
http://www.ps3toothfairy.com/
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/remotes/a ... vices/5732
http://rainshadowtech.com/default_files/HDMICECUSB.htm
http://www.kwikwai.com/index.php
http://www.pulse-eight.com/store/produc ... apter.aspx
http://libcec.pulse-eight.com/

Rene wrote:The PS3 supports HDMI-CEC.

Only the more recent PS3 'Slim', not the original 'Fat' models.
http://www.edepot.com/playstation3.html#PS3_HDMI
Esteban
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 677
Joined: January 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Controlling a Sony PS3

Postby Digit » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:50 pm

Thanks!

HDMI-CEC rings a bell, I found out that Samsung (the brand of our TV) calls it Anynet+, and our AV receiver supports it too (there it's called RIHD, what's in a name :wink: )
So that could be an option to explore, this can probably keep me from having to buy extra hardware.

I'll keep you posted on the results!
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Controlling a Sony PS3

Postby r_255 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:21 pm

I use a simple ir 2 bt converter from logitech.

Learned the ir codes from a logitech remote into the irtrans dbase.
r_255
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: June 2008
Location: Netherlands


Return to Philips Pronto (TSU9600), IRtrans and other remotes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest