Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Forum about hardware/software for the Philips Pronto TSU9600 and other remotes.

Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby olof » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:17 pm

What IR solution would you recommend?

I'm currently using a Logitech Harmony 900 RF solution to control all my TV-related boxes (cable box, amplifier, ..). These 'boxes' are located in the room next to the TV/living room.
logitech.com/en-gb/product/harmony-900? ... 00?crid=60

I'm not happy with the RF performance of the Logitech. The RF is not stable enough around my house, perhaps the units are to far apart or my walls are to thick, or whatever.
So and I'm looking for a wired IR solution. Ideally also linked into my Homeseer which is also located in the same location as the cable box and amplifier.

As a beginner in this area, I have some questions, perhaps anyone can give me some advice or tips? Thanks in advance!
Note, from TV to the "boxes" I have the possibility to use pre-existing wiring; Coax, Cat6 ethernet.

1. If I just want a good working simple solution would this be a good choice? (no Homeseer connection I realize):
amazon.com/Sewell-Infrared-Remote-Contr ... amp;sr=1-3

2. If I wanted (1) and Homeseer connection, would I then combine (1) with some units from IRTrans?

3. Or could IRTrans do all of the above? If so, which ITRans units would I use?
The IRTrans website doesn't explain it very well, and there are too many options/accessories to choice from.
In addition, I keep reading that IRTrans creates some delays. I don't want any delays when flipping TV channels, it would drive me nuts..

Cheers,
Olof
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby Digit » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:47 pm

I'm using the IRTrans LAN for 4 years now and it has never failed in all those years.
It's a great device and with great support, very helpful!

And believe me (or not): it's not creating delays. Cause if it would, it would've been long gone here.
It must be something else, maybe some 3rd party software that controls the IRTrans.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby olof » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:09 am

Robert,

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

If I understand IRTrans correctly (a big if..) I would need:

IR eye receiver next to TV which goes into my ethernet port --> Network Switch --> IRTrans LAN --> 3x IR transmiters for the devices?

So I think (?) I need to buy from IRTrans:

In TV room:
IRT-RCV-PLA External IR Receiver (36-40kHz) Plasma shielded. (This hooks into an ethernet port?)

In next room ('Meterkast') where the 'boxes' are located:
IRT-LAN-DB IRTrans Ethernet Device with IR Database
POW-SUP Plug-type switching power supply
IRT-TRANS-4K External IR Transmitter 4-way with 3,5mm Phone plug

May I ask which components of IRTrans Lan you have? Just to check if I'm doing my homework correctly.

Thanks again

Olof
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby Digit » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:17 am

I looked up the order and this is what I ordered:

1 * IRT-LAN-Mod IRTrans Ethernet Device
1 * COD-RCV-EXT External Universal IR Receiver (10-455kHz)
1 * POW-SUP Plug-type switching power supply

My setup is different from yours, so I'll be back later for your other questions - have to go now!
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby olof » Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:02 pm

ok, thanks!
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby Digit » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:59 pm

olof wrote:If I understand IRTrans correctly (a big if..) I would need:
IR eye receiver next to TV which goes into my ethernet port --> Network Switch --> IRTrans LAN --> 3x IR transmiters for the devices?

The IR eye (IRT-RCV-PLA) comes with a 3,5mm Phoneplug and 1m cable. It plugs directly into the IRT-LAN-DB.
In TV room:
IRT-RCV-PLA External IR Receiver (36-40kHz) Plasma shielded. (This hooks into an ethernet port?)

Correct, except for the ethernet part.
In next room ('Meterkast') where the 'boxes' are located:
IRT-LAN-DB IRTrans Ethernet Device with IR Database
POW-SUP Plug-type switching power supply
IRT-TRANS-4K External IR Transmitter 4-way with 3,5mm Phone plug

Yep, I think (mainly because I have no experience with how HS fits in this picture) this is correct. You can connect both the IRT-RCV-PLA and the IRT-TRANS-4K to the IRT-LAN-DB.
If I were you, I would make 100% sure before ordering; mail support@irtrans.de with a detailed description of what you want to achieve and I'm sure you'll get an answer.

BTW, you chose the 4-way transmitter but you only need 3? Spare transmitter for future use, or?
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Postby DJF3 » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:11 pm

My IRTrans IS adding delays..

- controlling my cable decoder directly (without IRT) is noticable faster..

Setup
- IRtrans IR receiver LED ----- IRtrans ------- (IR led on decoder)

So in this scenario there's NO Homeseer involved. The signal goes from the IR receiver, through IRtrans directly to the transmitter LED on the decoder..
I have played with the timing settings on the IRtrans device. This made the responsiveness better but more unreliable or slower but reliable..

Besides this it has worked incredibly stable for the past 3-4 years
User avatar
DJF3
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 886
Joined: July 2007

Re: Looking for IR solution; IRTrans or Sewell or ..?

Postby olof » Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:39 pm

Thanks to those for giving me some info & advice!

I contacted IrTrans over a week ago with some questions, but I have not yet heard anything from them.

As soon as know their suggestions, I will post it here.

Cheers,
Olof
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands


Return to Philips Pronto (TSU9600), IRtrans and other remotes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest