Belkin Lan USB HUB

Forum about Domotica related gadget like Pocketpc, UMPC, Smartphones, Ipad Etc

Moderator: TANE

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:41 pm

This evening I have installed the Belkin USB LAN hub. (I got it from Zebrafilm for testing)

<b>Installation</b>:
connecting the LAN cable
power cable
Install the software
I have plugged the USB Plugwise plug in the Belkin

5 minutes later it's working

Image


There are 5 USB port available.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:43 pm

second test:
Plugged USB memory stick It's working like locale device.
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:50 pm

Okay last test..

Installed the software on another machine.

Disconnected the USB memory stick from the fist machine.
from the second machine connected to the USB stick.
and yes again it's working..:)

This means the The Belkin has multi machine support. This option is not available on the DIGIT version USB anywhere

[img]uploaded/Chak/200810922501_belkin.gif[/img]
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Digit » Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:00 pm

And it's much much cheaper!
With multi you don't mean concurrent, right?

I looked at this device some time ago, but it looked to good to be true to buy it and try it...
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:10 pm

Robert,
With multi I mean that more machines can access the ports of the Belkin
per device max 1 machine.

[img]uploaded/Chak/200810923945_belkin2.gif[/img]
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:54 pm

@willem4ever
also Mac support same possibilities as windows.

few interesting things
You can connect a USB HUB and extend the maximum ports to 15
There is highspeed USB support (harddisk)

Did not find the option how to run as services.
But with external tools like FireDaemon this must also be possible
http://www.firedaemon.com/


@Robert all is true and that for 63 euro. (tweakers pricewatch)
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Digit » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:16 am

One last question: how about VMWare? Did you test that too?
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Francois » Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:10 am

I wonder,
- RFXcom on this device,
- CM11 serial with RS-232 to USB
- DigiBee (windows human interface)

Will it work??

Francois
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Bastiaan » Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:19 am

In my experience, everything that is 'native' USB works prefect. When the device has a serial to USB and the driver on the computer is also USB to serial it gets harder.
I tried it with my PMIX35 Xanura and could get it connected but it had trouble at higher serial rates and it usueally took a long time and was not 100% reliable.
My RFXCOM is LAN version so I couldn't try that one.
Bastiaan
Bastiaan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Francois » Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:25 am

Well if I am correct the CM11 runs at 9600 Baud so that might ease the pain a bit. It would be really nice if it worked because it would enable me to have all my interfaces in the "meterkast" while the HS PC with touchscreen sits in the living room.

I think I am going to give it a try.
If I am not mistaking the PIMX35 also comes as a USB connected device, is this the "native" USB you are refering to or does it also use a driver??

Francois
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby TANE » Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:35 am

Plugwise is using the same hardware as Rfxcom USB version.
I think It will work for Rfxcom...i have no USB version to test this..
my hope is that PMIX35 also will work when the speed is set to 19200
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Francois » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:20 pm

Heb ik het ding besteld bij 4Launch, daar was ie op voorraad, krijg ik de volgende mail:

U heeft een Belkin Netwerk USB Hub WLAN 300Mbit, LAN, 5x USB2.0 in bestelling staan.
Helaas is de verwachte leverdatum voor dit artikel op het moment van schrijven onbekend.
Wenst u nog even af te wachten? Of kunnen wij u eventueel een alternatief aanbieden?


Ik wil niet wachten, ik wil een hub!

4AllClients.com BV durf ik niet aan, kommer en kwel als ik de reviews op tweakers lees.

Francois
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Snelvuur » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:33 pm

its hard to keep english sometimes if you know everyone is dutch.. :)

@chak: let me know how it works with a pmix35..

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Noel » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:47 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by snelvuur</i>
<br />its hard to keep english sometimes if you know everyone is dutch.. :)

@chak: let me know how it works with a pmix35..

// Erik (binkey.nl)
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">[joke_mode]
Yes.. Specially with a name like Francois :-)
[/joke_mode]
--
<h6>Anyone interested in time travel meet me here last Thursday!!</h6>
[ status banner ff off-line i.v.m. server updates.]
User avatar
Noel
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Belkin Lan USB HUB

Postby Francois » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:52 pm

After 2 weeks in Redmond in a training group of 93 people with 37 nationalities I totally lost it....

I apologize !

Francois
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Francois
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: April 2008
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Gadgets Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest