Homecontrol and Kinect

Forum about Domotica related gadget like Pocketpc, UMPC, Smartphones, Ipad Etc

Moderator: TANE

Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby AshaiRey » Mon May 16, 2011 10:38 am

I found some more material on the web
I specialy like these characteristics.
This can not only detect occupancy. But, it can tell how many occupants there are and where they are in the room.
Real-time People detection and tracking with multiple Kinect cameras
Object Recognition using Kinect on the PC (Is it a person or a pet.)


http://nitrogen.posterous.com/home-auto ... l-with-kin

There is also a thread on the Homeseer forum about the Kinect
http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.ph ... ght=Kinect
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby olof » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:02 am

An update on this interesting development.

The developer of the Nitrogen Logic appears to be a step further, and is beginning to sell it to early adopters:
http://www.nitrogenlogic.com/products/d ... oller.html

The combination Kinect + Nitrogen Logic (still in beta it seems) gives 3D motion control sensor.
Within the same Homeseer thread mentioned by AshaiRey now has a person ("MadMax") who has actually bought Kinect + Nitrogen Logic and seems very happy with its 3D detection possibilities.
board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=147 ... t=nitrogen

Cheers,
Olof
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby r_255 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:13 am

I love the the nitrogen stuff, but does it make sence to add an extra piece of hardware ?
It would be ideal to use a hs touchwork station ( mine are very lazy at the moment ) do the things the ( shiva plug ? ) does.

I guess its a mather of time and find some one that is willing to write a hs plugin... as most stuff is covered by api's in windows so it should not be that hard for some one with programming expierence.
r_255
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: June 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby olof » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:22 am

I love the the nitrogen stuff, but does it make sence to add an extra piece of hardware ?


fair point.

We'll just have to see and wait if anybody with the right skills can write an HS plug-in. Given that at some point this year (next year?) hs3 should be coming out, many plug-in writers are probably holding off writing new plug-ins.
olof
Member
Member
 
Posts: 281
Joined: August 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby Digit » Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi,
I just started "playing" with a Kinect and the MS Kinect SDK. Nothing much yet, just played with some samples from the SDK, changed some code to see how hard it is and I really like it so far. With the release of the Kinect SDK earlier this year I think that everybody with some programming skills can start creating their own applications for the Kinect.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby Bwired » Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:58 pm

make some smart moves for opening and closing your screens :)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby freedomotic » Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:02 pm

Hi, is it possible programming Kinetic in Java?
Thanks
Freedomotic Open Source Building Automation
http://freedomotic.com
User avatar
freedomotic
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: March 2012
Location: Italy

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby Digit » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:09 pm

I think a good search engine can answer that question a lot faster and better than me :wink:
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Homecontrol and Kinect

Postby Digit » Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:38 am

Some progress has been made with the Kinect SDK, tracking skeletons:



It's fun to work with, but as it is now (including drawing the skeleton in VGA res @ 30fps), it uses a lot of CPU...
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands


Return to Gadgets Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest