Active repeater: How to install

Forum about PLCBUS devices & software.

Moderator: Digit

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Jfn » Mon May 26, 2008 12:03 pm

As the topic says, how do you install an active repeater?

Just finished installing 3 filters in the fusebox and the next step is to install the active repeater.

What I was wondering is how others installed their repeater. Did you install an extra 3-phase earth-leak switch and a 3P+N fuse and attached the repeater to it? (This is what I intend to do) Or did you connect the repeater to existing fuses?


Als het niet gerepareerd kan worden dan is het niet kapot!
Jfn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Digit » Mon May 26, 2008 9:33 pm

Only single phase here, so can't help you with that.
BTW, what's the advantage of the way you intend to do it?
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Active repeater: How to install

Postby DMB » Mon May 26, 2008 10:55 pm

Jfn,

I've installed a 3 phase earth leak switch without fuses before the FKX active repeater of Xanura.

DMB
User avatar
DMB
Member
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: June 2006
Location: Netherlands

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Jfn » Tue May 27, 2008 6:58 am

The reason to protect the repeater with its own earth-leak switch and fuse is that should the repeater start behaving bad it will only affect the repeater and not the rest of the installation.

I ordered a 3-phase earth-leak switch and a 4-phase fuse and will mount the repeater behind it (A 4-phase fuse works the same as a 3P+N but instead also has overcurrent protection on the N).

Should I decide to trade-in my gas stove for ceramic/induction cooking I have the fuse-box already fitted with the proper equipment.


Als het niet gerepareerd kan worden dan is het niet kapot!
Jfn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Dowser » Tue May 27, 2008 1:16 pm

I installed mine behind a 3-phase fuse. I don't really se a need for a separate 3-phase earth-leak switch for it. If it *does* trip your regular earth-leak switch you should get the unit exchanged immediately. (And I think that it in 99% of these cases would be enough with a 1-phase earth-leak switch, since it only is one of the phases that serves the actual repeater.)

//Markus
Dowser
Member
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: August 2007
Location: Sweden

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Jfn » Tue May 27, 2008 2:24 pm

A seperate earth-leak switch is not really necessary. I could also use the other earth-leak switches (I have 3 of them in the fusebox, each protecting 4, 3 and 3 fuses respectively). However, regulations demand that an earth-leak switch may only support a maximum of 4 fuses. So I am one earth-leak connection short to enable the connection of a 3-phase fuse.

As the repeater is a 3-phase unit (3P+N), a fuse is needed that switches off all three phases (and the N) at the same time in case of a problem.

This made me decide to fit an extra 3P+N earth-leak switch in the fusebox and connect the fuse to it. I added an extra box containing the X10 filters, so there is plenty of room for this stuff and at a little over 60 euro for the brand-new switch + fuse I am also ready for the future (ceramic / induction cooking).


<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Dowser</i>
<br />I installed mine behind a 3-phase fuse. I don't really se a need for a separate 3-phase earth-leak switch for it. If it *does* trip your regular earth-leak switch you should get the unit exchanged immediately. (And I think that it in 99% of these cases would be enough with a 1-phase earth-leak switch, since it only is one of the phases that serves the actual repeater.)

//Markus
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

Als het niet gerepareerd kan worden dan is het niet kapot!
Jfn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands

Active repeater: How to install

Postby Jfn » Thu May 29, 2008 2:09 pm

I mounted the 3-phase active repeater today. It works. Just to test it I used an extension cord to connect the computer-interface to a different phase. When sending the right command it continued to turn on/off the lights.

The combination of the RF 4060E mini-remote (http://x10-hk.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=22_26&products_id=65) and the 4023 tranceiver module (http://x10-hk.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=22_24&products_id=29) do not seem to support a 3-phase network.
When moving the tranceiver module to a different phase then where the modules I want to control are located, nothing happens.. When pressing a button on the mini-remote I can hear the tranceiver picking up the RF signal, but the computer-interface does not show any packet coming through.

Other remotes have the option to be configured for a 3-phase system and it seems that the 4060E lacks the option to set bit 6 of the command-byte in a PLCBUS frame.

I can however, control the appliance-module that is built-in into the tranceiver through the computer-interface, but only when I set bit 6 to active.

So make sure when buying a remote that it supports a 3-phase powerline.

Furthermore: When I operate a light-switch, I do not see the micro-module generating a PLCBUS packet. I would expect that when I press a light-switch, the micro-module transmits a PLCBUS signal that is picked-up by the computer-interface. This way I know that the status of a switch has changed. The only way to learn what the status of a switch is, is to poll it and ask what its status is. Has anyone been able to configure a PLCBUS module in such a way that it 'pushes' any status change onto the powerline?



Als het niet gerepareerd kan worden dan is het niet kapot!
Jfn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: February 2008
Location: Netherlands


Return to PLCBUS Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest