Not licensed for extended scripting

Plugwise Forum about Plugwise devices and the Source software.

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Tijseling » Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:36 am

ok. it is that i am just logged on to my mac, or i would try right away :) i will let you know.
i hear from some other plugwise member that you could " buy" the extended scripting functiomality from plugwise for just 19,95, after sending them a mail asking for it.
that would not realy be an expensive way to have a " legal" way of using source pro. but i dont, know if it is realy the same.. maybe PRO is much more then just extended scripting?

and, it could be that plugwise no linger sells the extended scripting functionality to home user ft a small fee....
i am not using the extended scriptin fuction, nor am i a programmer, so i dont think i would buy the extended scripting functionalityjust now, but maybe this could be a solution for some othr people here..
Tijseling
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: January 2010

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby nico_gh2 » Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:20 pm

Plugwise is planning to release Floorplan to the general public as well (not only companies). This requires SourcePro according to the documentation so therefore I think we will be able to use SourcePro in the future. Unfortunately no News on dates and prices yet.
User avatar
nico_gh2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: April 2011
Location: Betuwe, Netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Tijseling » Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:29 pm

i have modified the .dll-file, and it works as expected, now the demo html page of plugwise server displays an extra tabel with some info about selected devices! :)
i would like more info bour the actual differences between source and source pro, and something like modules you could just buy ( for a reasonable price) instead of source pro being avalable to profesionals/companies, with extra yearly fee's that is just way to expesive for home users of what sort.
Tijseling
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: January 2010

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby labium » Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:59 pm

if you change that hex Plugwise.Images.Dll i also get more networks , i have 2 sticks.
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Tijseling » Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:49 pm

ok. how does that give you more options?
or is it easy for when you use plugwise on more sites, and then have seperate databasefiles?
how do you choose between different networks?

can you use 2 sticks when you dont edit the hexcode?
Tijseling
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: January 2010

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby T-Rex » Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:49 pm

nico_gh2 wrote:Plugwise is planning to release Floorplan to the general public as well (not only companies).

Nice, I would be interested in that. Depending on the price of course.
T-Rex
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: March 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby labium » Sun Dec 11, 2011 2:41 pm

Tijseling wrote:ok. how does that give you more options?
or is it easy for when you use plugwise on more sites, and then have seperate databasefiles?
how do you choose between different networks?

can you use 2 sticks when you dont edit the hexcode?


yes it could. but the problem is still to let plugwise get and stay connected with remote usb in my weekendhouse. the only thing that worked well was a remote usb program on a computer. but i dont want a extra computer continuus online, i tried anywhere usb, belkin home base and lantronix ubox but that doenst give a reliable connection. the stretch for home and small business isnt launched yet. so i still use a seperate source in my second home.

ps i also have the extra info right under in the webserver screen.

i thought maybe a netbook then but i dont know if that have enough functionality on board to run a remote usb program. i use plugwise because i am power cost aware, an old xp computer power consumption is to much.
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Tijseling » Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:31 pm

i think plugwise is a bit slow on working stuff out for home users, because business is more attractive to plugwise, because business pays more.. to keep that exclusive, they cant just "give" stuff to home users.

it is just a pain for home users that plugwise doesn't realy do developing for home users. like more home control stuff.. if they would, and it would be as high quality as what they have.. it would be a very good product. a lot of home control stuf is not realy high quality or not very robust and easy te use, or just to much fuss. they all work with their own ugly non programmable remote, etc.

also developing hardware and software to work reliable enough for internationals is not a simple thing. they dont accept it if a network misses its schedules, circles switching the wrong time's etc. like my "klik aan klik uit" wireless switches. i doens look like you have a reliable solution for switching, how can actual measuring be reliable, etc.
Tijseling
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: January 2010

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby labium » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:18 am

Tijseling wrote:i think plugwise is a bit slow on working stuff out for home users, because business is more attractive to plugwise, because business pays more.. to keep that exclusive, they cant just "give" stuff to home users.

it is just a pain for home users that plugwise doesn't realy do developing for home users. like more home control stuff.. if they would, and it would be as high quality as what they have.. it would be a very good product. a lot of home control stuf is not realy high quality or not very robust and easy te use, or just to much fuss. they all work with their own ugly non programmable remote, etc.

also developing hardware and software to work reliable enough for internationals is not a simple thing. they dont accept it if a network misses its schedules, circles switching the wrong time's etc. like my "klik aan klik uit" wireless switches. i doens look like you have a reliable solution for switching, how can actual measuring be reliable, etc.



i think you are right, i must say when you email or phone them they give good advise and support.
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby tommes2 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:30 pm

Hello friends,

is there also a patch available for Source Version 2.21 like this ?

Darwusch wrote:You can edit the Plugwise.Images.dll file. Then it accepts all features.
Check the file version is 2.20.0.0. If so, then hexedit the file at address 49F8h: change 06 to 17.
Good luck.


because the offset doesn't match - OK - new version, new code :)

THX
Tom
tommes2
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 2011

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Darwusch » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:52 pm

Strange, because Source 2.21 uses Plugwise.Images.dll file version 2.20.0.0.
So the offset should match.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 163
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby tommes2 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:36 pm

Thx for answer,

but it seems to be different (see screenshot).

Assembly Version: 2.20.4311.25434
File version: 2.20.0.0
Producversion: 2.20.0.0

Any idea ?

THX in advance
Tom
Attachments
Plugwise1.JPG
HEX Hardcopy from Plugwise.Images.dll
Plugwise1.JPG (13.27 KiB) Viewed 7436 times
tommes2
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 2011

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby labium » Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:40 am

with me it works in 2.21
labium
Member
Member
 
Posts: 486
Joined: February 2010
Location: netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby Darwusch » Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:59 pm

I see it now. The file version is still 2.20.0.0 but the assembly version is newer in your case.
I just updated with the setup from the website, now I have the same version as you.
Source version 2.21 - 20111008.13
Ok, now it seems to be hex address 447D(h), same change 06 to 17.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 163
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Not licensed for extended scripting

Postby tommes2 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:23 pm

Many THX to Darwusch,

the "patch" works fine.

Greetings from Germany - Tom
tommes2
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 2011

PreviousNext

Return to Plugwise Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest