Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Plugwise Forum about Plugwise devices and the Source software.

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Darwusch » Thu May 08, 2014 5:14 pm

Darwusch wrote:
Darwusch wrote:Same here.
I think it is because something is causing the source to eat the cpu.
Mostly when I open the standard plugwise webpage, the source takes about 80% of the cpu and this lasts until I restart the source.
It seems many strange errors are caused by the source not responding in time due to this.

For me, this problem started with the first 2.24 beta version and still present in current version 20140411.0


The extreme cpu usage due to the bug in this beta Plugwise, causes an increase of my PC server energy demand of 260 kWh yearly. :D

cpu usage.png


Just got a message from Plugwise (quick response btw):
Dank voor uw melding. Het probleem is ons bekend. We hopen het in de volgende beta opgelost te hebben.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Darwusch » Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:36 pm

In the latest beta they claim it is fixed, but it is not...
Beta version 20140613.0 still has the problem that the cpu usage grows to the maximum in a couple of hours.
The changelog says "Fixed - PTE: slow script execution and high CPU usage problem".
I sent them an email that the bug is still there, no answer yet.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby T-Rex » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:11 pm

Same for me, high CPU usage is still there with the latest Bèta (2.24beta(20140613.0)), also when the webserver is switched off.
T-Rex
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: March 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Verkenner » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:38 pm

I downgraded Plugwise Source to 2.23 20130901.2 (NON-Beta).
And HomeSeer Plugwise Plugin 2.1.0.0

This combi is working fine.
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby T-Rex » Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:43 pm

Strange, the CPU usage just after starting the Source software is normal, like 2-6%. It looks like only after several hours the CPU usage starts to increase.
T-Rex
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: March 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Darwusch » Sun Jun 22, 2014 11:26 pm

Exactly. Look at the graph I posted on page 1, you can see it increasing slowly.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Verkenner » Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:24 pm

Yes, a slow hangup.
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Darwusch » Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:07 pm

Latest beta (20140729.1) seems to fix this.
I have been running it for 24 hours without an increase of cpu usage.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby T-Rex » Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:16 am

Same here. :)
T-Rex
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: March 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby vanisher » Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:06 pm

any new beta's? the current one is expiring in a couple of days.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: June 2011

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby RdP » Sun Sep 21, 2014 5:24 pm

vanisher wrote:any new beta's? the current one is expiring in a couple of days.


Which version do you use? The latest of dated 15082014.
Rien
User avatar
RdP
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 953
Joined: May 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby stefxx » Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:07 am

vanisher wrote:any new beta's? the current one is expiring in a couple of days.


De updater shows no updates. But there is a new version available (the one that Rien mentioned): http://www.myplugwise.com/source/pwsetup_2.24beta.exe
User avatar
stefxx
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 647
Joined: September 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby RdP » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:35 pm

sddroog wrote:
vanisher wrote:any new beta's? the current one is expiring in a couple of days.


De updater shows no updates. But there is a new version available (the one that Rien mentioned): http://www.myplugwise.com/source/pwsetup_2.24beta.exe


In fact, now there is a 23092014 version.... Don't know what they changed in this version, but you can use it for another 59 days

Version 2.24 is in beta for more than a year now, which is way too lang if you ask me :-(

/Rien
Rien
User avatar
RdP
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 953
Joined: May 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Darwusch » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:51 am

Final 2.24 is out.
Darwusch
Member
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Watch out ! before upgrading Source !

Postby Harry » Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:24 am

are there inportant changes? last time i upgraded i experienced mutch lost in functionality.... that a could buy back whith way to expensive licences :x what about this update,....is it a update or a downgrade?
User avatar
Harry
Member
Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: April 2006
Location: Drachten

Previous

Return to Plugwise Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest