Public vs local IP

Alles m.b.t. HSTtouch (DUTCH forum)

Moderators: TANE, Ruud

Public vs local IP

Postby kriz83 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:17 pm

Hi,

I'm just getting started with HSTouch, but I was wondering: how do you manage the local vs public (external) ip delema ...

I mean, when I am at home I'm connected using wifi and I am on the same network.
If I am away, I'm using mobile data ...

Do you create 2 server in HSTouch ?

Gr,
Kriz
HomeSeer - PlugWise - RFXComm - Philips Pronto TSU9800/9600/9300
kriz83
Member
Member
 
Posts: 200
Joined: October 2012
Location: Belgium

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby Phaeton » Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:24 pm

I'd use a VPN to connect (with a secure connection) to your homenetwork.
groeten,
Harry
User avatar
Phaeton
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 573
Joined: May 2010
Location: Wassenaar

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby Rutger » Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:58 pm

same here: VPN connection.
My home automation blog: https://rutg3r.com
Rutger
Member
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: May 2010
Location: Netherlands

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby AshaiRey » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:18 am

I use a landline to call my wife at home to do the switching :-)
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby raymonvdm » Tue Jun 25, 2013 12:13 pm

You can setup the app to ask how to connect. When is start HStouch it will ask me if i`m Home or Away. When "Away" pressed it wil be connecting to my public ip. When "Home" pressed it will be connecting to my local ip.

However the best (most secure) solution is to work with a VPN tunnel from you`re phone. But VPN is not always working when you`re behind a firewall. (Public Hotspot for example)
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: December 2011

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby kriz83 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:26 pm

Those were indeed the 2 options I had in mind.

I taught maybe there was something clever, like e.g. the cloud service on synology NAS'es.
You enter and Id and pw, and then it detects automatically what IP it should use to connect to your nas.

This is not really a great thing for the WAF I'm afraid ...
HomeSeer - PlugWise - RFXComm - Philips Pronto TSU9800/9600/9300
kriz83
Member
Member
 
Posts: 200
Joined: October 2012
Location: Belgium

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby raymonvdm » Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:35 pm

I think you should train the Wife because mine is accepting it as an solution :-)


* Wife`s are some times easyer then they apear
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: December 2011

Re: Public vs local IP

Postby gvdham » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:53 pm

Doesn't your router has local nat loopback so u can allways use the external ip
gvdham
Member
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: October 2009
Location: Netherlands


Return to Homeseer HStouch Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest