what touchscreen to use

Forum about all kind of Touchpanels & Displays.

what touchscreen to use

Postby arccch » Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:52 pm

Hi all.

I am looking for a touchscreen for my beginning domotica system. i am using some x10 and zwave apliances and i am happy about them but know i want to use a touchscreen with it to control the house. My mind about the software is set to HS with HSTouch but know i am looking for a touchscreen and i am wondering what are you guys using
- a normal computer and touchscreen attached to it
- a touchscreen with build in computer
- something else

thanks for the info so far
arccch
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 2009
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby drmacchi » Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:21 pm

Many solutions: the best for me is a pc , with touchscreen and HStouch , problems : one pc in every room ----> hw costs and energy bill high ! , same touchscreen with build in computer , the best could be a portable device like an Iphone or similar with a good software interface done with Hstouch , Rover or similar. You take it with you in every room........... even in bathroom if you need it ! :) :) :) (joke!)
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

what touchscreen to use

Postby Cooma » Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:56 pm

Hi, have you checked out this: www.linuxmce.org
Cooma
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 2009
Location: Finland

what touchscreen to use

Postby TANE » Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:59 am

There are some rumors about the new Apple tablet PC.
This device will be a kind of big Iphone with 10" screen.
If the rumors are true this will be the best touch screen for HS

<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Enver
http://twitter.com/Chak64%20My%20Domotica%20Log%20www.tane.nl/domotica/hardware.html<i> My Domotica Hardware Software</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby arccch » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:34 pm

thnx all i will check that linux link out in the couple of days and thnx to chak for that rumor info. i will keep that in mind.
arccch
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 2009
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby AshaiRey » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:03 am

Nintendo DS is an option too.
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby drmacchi » Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:26 pm

How do you manage Homeseer with Nintendo? Thanks.
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

what touchscreen to use

Postby Snelvuur » Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:48 pm

it has a browser, but i looked into it too.. but in the end i think its not handy. You can start up a browser, but you cant write a native app easily on it. (looked into that too) however, startup times and such are really fast (wifi too) there is a tool out there where you can write apps/games for it and also with http gets in it over wifi (which you could use for homeseer) but again, too much hassle.

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 3155
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby drmacchi » Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:58 pm

Ok, very clear ! we really need a handy device, with full support of WWWW , flash , and java. does is exist?
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

what touchscreen to use

Postby r_255 » Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:59 pm

Recently i reinstalled my gps with wifi and after some cosmetic changes in the hstouch interface this runs fine for a few weeks now.


Its nice to control your complete house from one touch screen in theory, but in practice you would like to have as much control points as possible at a low energy consumption and also a factor are other inhabitants that have to control the system. Keep that in mind while designing.

Sure hstouch on wince doesnt run flawless at all points, but as multiple light switch it runs perfect and better than expected after all negative things about hstouch.

For full control, audio and status info on anything the best advise i can give is as much size and resolution money can buy.
r_255
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 621
Joined: June 2008
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby drmacchi » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:03 pm

drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

what touchscreen to use

Postby TANE » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:24 pm

one of the photoshop photos..:)

we have to wait till 8 September.


<hr noshade size="1"><font size="1">Enver
http://twitter.com/Chak64%20My%20Domotica%20Log%20www.tane.nl/domotica/hardware.html<i> My Domotica Hardware Software</i></font id="size1">
User avatar
TANE
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 4806
Joined: April 2007
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby arccch » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:39 pm

ok little update. i have tried the linuxmce for a few days and what i have seen it isnt that bad but i didnt like it as much as i thought. it looks nice but i couldnt get the click i had with mediaportal although there are a few points wich are better with linuxmce. just to say thats my opinion.

Still stands the question: if i am using Homeseer then i would use a computer with a touchscreen (at least one in the future that will be two) i dont want very big screens but just small ones that dont really are insight something like a 8 or 10 inch. also i dont wanna use a big desktop computer but a nice small computer with low energyconsumption but i think you all do that so you can answer the question wich one is that?

greetings from Almelo
arccch
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 2009
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby Rene » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:54 pm

I am playing with a SunRay 2 to connect my touchscreen. A SunRay is a thin client and you need a server to connect to over the network and to run your applications. A SunRay 2 will costs you approx. 200-250 Euro's but it has a small footprint and it's power usage is only 4W.

Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

what touchscreen to use

Postby mhn » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:20 pm

If you want low power consumption this one look nice. :-) http://fit-pc2.com/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Next

Return to Touchpanels, Displays & UMPC devices.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest