Audio system

Forum and Topics about Z-Wave devices.

Audio system

Postby pnutp0wer » Fri May 20, 2016 11:33 am

Hi everybody,

This is my first time on this forum so i dont know if my subject is in the right topic list.

I want too buy a HC2 in the next 2 months but i got a question about the audio system i want to pair with the system.

I already know that Sonos is the most user friendly system too pair with Fibaro but i prefer a Audio Receiver like Denon, Onkyo or something like that. I know no other system than Sonos has a good multi-room function but i live in a small appartment so the multi-room function wont be that necessary, but my girlfriend wants too have music in the bathroom. (like pairing the fibaro dimmer with audio, so if you pushed the light button the music starts also playing)

Can you tell me what you're experiences are with this kind of systems (like denon, onkyo etc)? Do you have the same functions with the scenes like sonos or not?
pnutp0wer
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2016

Re: Audio system

Postby rances » Mon May 30, 2016 2:06 pm

Just go for Sonos. Most user friendly & fool proof.
I'm running Homeseer btw. But the same can be done with HC2
rances
Member
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: November 2010

Re: Audio system

Postby Xirilius » Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:03 pm

This is an old topic but for the one who wants to know...

I am using a DENON AVR-2113 with a plugin on my Fibaro HC2

I can control and set things like: volume, on/off, select input....

But i don't know how to send more complicated tasks to the Denon like:

1) start a MP3 'blabla' located on my NAS
2) set audio mode to: Dolby, stereo or Multichannel stereo
3) Set tuner to preset 7
4) Start a playlist or song on the connected USB stick with MP3 files
5) Turn on zone-2 and select input 'Internet radio' with station 'Pinguin-radio'

Is this possible? Maybe somebody knows how to do things like that with the Denon plugin?
Xirilius
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: October 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Audio system

Postby nico_gh2 » Sat Dec 24, 2016 3:10 pm

and in jan/feb 2017 Denon will release a dedicated HEOS amplifier for 5.1 + heos zones if you want multiroom.
User avatar
nico_gh2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: April 2011
Location: Betuwe, Netherlands

Re: Audio system

Postby jeroen_ » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:54 am

I am planning for a new per-room audio thing, so that one can take an iphone and then just say "play in all rooms" or "play this in this room".

Upto now, my basic plan is:
- per-room speakers in the ceiling
- run the speaker cable to a central location
- in that central location place per-room mini amplifiers, connect speakers to that
- connect an airplay device (could be a software emu) per amp
- connect an airplay device that connects to all amps (will have to fidget with some kind of cross connect) -> "all rooms"

As Airplay is wifi-based, "all rooms" and the separate rooms will just pop up in the local wifi due to Bonjour (not my prefered protocol, but oh well)

And voila, can then use it at least from any IOS/OSX based device. (Nothing much android here actually).

And, if I grow tired of Airplay or it does not work as expected, I can just swap the tech between the phone and the amps out with something else.
Volume control will be software based this way, but at least there will be a maximum volume ;)
jeroen_
Member
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: February 2013
Location: Switzerland

Re: Audio system

Postby raymonvdm » Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:16 pm

jeroen_ wrote:I am planning for a new per-room audio thing, so that one can take an iphone and then just say "play in all rooms" or "play this in this room".

Upto now, my basic plan is:
- per-room speakers in the ceiling
- run the speaker cable to a central location
- in that central location place per-room mini amplifiers, connect speakers to that
- connect an airplay device (could be a software emu) per amp
- connect an airplay device that connects to all amps (will have to fidget with some kind of cross connect) -> "all rooms"

As Airplay is wifi-based, "all rooms" and the separate rooms will just pop up in the local wifi due to Bonjour (not my prefered protocol, but oh well)

And voila, can then use it at least from any IOS/OSX based device. (Nothing much android here actually).

And, if I grow tired of Airplay or it does not work as expected, I can just swap the tech between the phone and the amps out with something else.
Volume control will be software based this way, but at least there will be a maximum volume ;)


Did you see this post? http://members.home.nl/b.vanzoelen/ZMC.htm#ZMC-P1
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1145
Joined: December 2011

Re: Audio system

Postby jeroen_ » Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:44 pm

raymonvdm wrote:Did you see this post? http://members.home.nl/b.vanzoelen/ZMC.htm#ZMC-P1


Had not, thanks for pointing it out!

It seems he came to a similar conclusion: run wire, use cheap speakers, attach an audio source.

The XAP800 is an interesting thing, will definitely do more research on that, especially the audio-volume limiting is quite appealing, oh and the matrix mixer.
Serial control is a great thing, just drop a Rpi or CHIP next to it and voila, network support. And due to audio source a computer of some kind will be next to it anyway.

Effectively I could take his setup and instead of winamp as a source, use an airtunes/airplay capable device as a source, or multiple sources...
jeroen_
Member
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: February 2013
Location: Switzerland

Re: Audio system

Postby raymonvdm » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:00 pm

jeroen_ wrote:
raymonvdm wrote:Did you see this post? http://members.home.nl/b.vanzoelen/ZMC.htm#ZMC-P1


Had not, thanks for pointing it out!

It seems he came to a similar conclusion: run wire, use cheap speakers, attach an audio source.

The XAP800 is an interesting thing, will definitely do more research on that, especially the audio-volume limiting is quite appealing, oh and the matrix mixer.
Serial control is a great thing, just drop a Rpi or CHIP next to it and voila, network support. And due to audio source a computer of some kind will be next to it anyway.

Effectively I could take his setup and instead of winamp as a source, use an airtunes/airplay capable device as a source, or multiple sources...


I `m using Squeezelite for the input on a RaspberryPI. And use LMS to maintain the database. Control is done by HSTouch urls or Squeezer on Android. I would like to add some powered amplifiers in the future for Disco mode :D
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1145
Joined: December 2011

Re: Audio system

Postby jeroen_ » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:06 pm

raymonvdm wrote:I `m using Squeezelite for the input on a RaspberryPI. And use LMS to maintain the database. Control is done by HSTouch urls or Squeezer on Android. I would like to add some powered amplifiers in the future for Disco mode :D


Yeah the source can be almost anything.

Eg from about a decade ago: MPD (https://www.musicpd.org/) + EmpCD (https://unfix.org/projects/empcd/) :)

The thing with having airtunes (goes over wifi, thus can leave the room) is that one can have the same music in the car, then walk into the house and switch the playlist over...

But yes, just having an mp3 source of whatever kind as an option is likely a good thing.
jeroen_
Member
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: February 2013
Location: Switzerland


Return to Z-Wave Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest