Vera knowledge centre

Forum and Topics about Z-Wave devices.

Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:01 pm

Because there is no specifiec tread for Vera setup box , I would created here.

Since 2 weaks I have been the happy owner of the Vera box from Micasaverde. And like to share the experiance with other users.

Let's make a nice - information - shared knowledge - good post [:)]

Best regards,
Marco
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:08 pm

Okey i will start with the kickoff.

current setup
- Vera firmware Luup version 1.0.899
- 8x danfoss radiator valve
- 3x door sensor
- 2x pir zir010
- 6x Duwi on /off
- 5x duwi on/off wireless
- 1x duwi rolluik
- 1x power adapter on/off ( everspring)
- 1x power adapter on/off ( duwi)
- cees ring

Road map :

2) All doors , door sensors
3) last radiator's replacment with danfoss
4) little touch screen
5) alarm ( zwave )
6) fire alarm
Last edited by Mversluis on Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:21 pm

Connecting danfoss to Vera.

There are multiple ways to connect devices to Vera. I prefer the one with full power mode
( this will leave the dongel into Vera.)

1) Goto Devices
2) Goto Z-wave
3) More z-wave options
4) Goto section learn more these options - learn about full power inclusion

Image

5) change low power into full power
6) press quick 3 times he black button on danfoss
7) vera will reorganise the danfoss , default as a thermostat.

<font color="red">This would be wrong , don't clicking on continue. But...</font id="red">

8) Press the black button on vera for a several time , untill the screen of Vera will change in a " generic device "
9) Give the new device a indentification name , connect it to the right room and click continue
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby mhn » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:30 pm

Hi.

I have had my Vera for about 7 month.

It is not stable enough to use in production in my opinion.

I really hope, they make a stable firmware. It has the best set of functions I have meet. And I really like having access to the system.

I do a lot of testing. :-)

Current setup:

1.0.900

Act plug in dimmer
Smartdimmer x 2
EZmotion
SmoothRemote
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Vera knowledge centre

Postby structor » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:25 pm

Time to join in. I have my vera since yesterday. The devices i have:
* duwi push button 05443, one is included but i can't use it in a scene yet. The other one was already controlling two dimmers and i cannot include it in vera (i removed the dimmers from the button). Status: not done here....
* Qees ring: status up and running. The device initially was not running right after binding, but after setting the option treat buttons as events it worked
* duwi plugin switch: status up and running. No troubles.
* duwi dimmer : status up and running. No troubles.
* aeon door/window switch: status up and running.
* Express Controls EZMotion: initially device was recognized as general io device, according to vera forum press blue reset switch until it's correcly recognized. It is now correcly bound. At the moment the trip last very long, according to the documentation this can be changed. WIP (work in progress)
* ACT HomePro ZIR010. Device bound correcly but then it did nothing. After a day it gives a valid status, tomorrow i will try to create a scene for this device. WIP.

Does anybody know how to create a toggle with a scene? More explicitely at the moment the qees button 1 now sets some lights and button 2 switches them off, can this be done with one button but then in toggle mode?

And what happens if a specify two events. Do they act as an and or an or?

Is anybody on the forum creating luac scripts for the vera???
User avatar
structor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:57 pm

Hi Structor,

I just created a simple luap script for the motion sensor.

Gr Marco
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:06 pm

Hi Structor,

Just reset the zir010 to default settings.
1) remove battery.
2) put battery back
3) put dongel in incl mode
4) pir would be include
5) goto advanced setting and put parameters as below

Image

just create a scene.
device: motion sensor
event type : a sensor ( door / window / motion )
name event : light on
tripped : yes

commands
device on , after 3 minutes , off
Pls dont use this in a shorter time. This would not work on the right way.

The time to reset device , and start it over to detect motion is about 2 minutes.

Best Regards,
Marco
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby EzHome » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:29 am

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">
* Qees ring: status up and running. The device initially was not running right after binding, but after setting the option treat buttons as events it worked
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

I wrote a workaround here: http://www.ezhome.nl/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=13

In this way you can choose the button you want direct in the scene.
EzHome
Member
Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: June 2009
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby EzHome » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:40 am

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Does anybody know how to create a toggle with a scene? More explicitely at the moment the qees button 1 now sets some lights and button 2 switches them off, can this be done with one button but then in toggle mode?<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

A button can be used in 2 ways, one is for a scene like you did and two is direct association.

In scene you can make a difference between "a scene is activated" (on push on the button of the Qees Ring (S) or Qees Wall (S))
Image

In direct association you associate one (or more devices) to that button.
By pushing the button once you turn the device on, by pushing it twice you turn it off.

Holding down the button will dim up the device what is turned on and by pushing it once followed by a hold down will dim the device.
EzHome
Member
Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: June 2009
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby structor » Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:50 am

After seeing the last message of ezHome I suddenly realised that although vera says i have the latest firmware, i actually don't. That is the Luup firmware, since that is still in beta. So I followed the upgrade procedure on the micasaverde homepage and now I have the latest firmware.

By the way, are the event notifications through e-mail everywhere so slow? I don't have it timed yet, but it appears to be in the 20 minute range, which is not acceptable to me... Perhaps I have to figure out a way the send mail myself, since it is a linux device it should be possible.
User avatar
structor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby EzHome » Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:09 pm

The mail function isn't very accurate, MCV is aware of this and using your own mail server is on the to do list for future updates.

I also did a request for Iphone push messages for the Iphone app, this could be a great feature.

For the moment I am working on a LUUP plugin for the Conovae APP
(http://www.appnotifications.com)
EzHome
Member
Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: June 2009
Location: Netherlands

Vera knowledge centre

Postby mhn » Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:18 pm

@structor Before you go hunting for the mail function in Vera. :-)

I used some time a while ago on that project.

I found a way to setup HTTPS on Vera, but i never found the mail function.

So be prepared for some work. :-)
mhn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: July 2009
Location: Denmark

Vera knowledge centre

Postby structor » Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:20 pm

Writing a luup plugin to offload the work to something else is indeed a solution. I think my synology has smtp support. So i could also try that. So much to do, currently on my list:
* stabalize luup event to switch the porch light only when its dark an turn back in original state after 2 minutes (the last part does not work anymore since i added luup)
* write android app to interact with vera, i already have created a .net app since that's my native language. The android part is just beyond hello world level.
* write luup plugin to switch off xbmc computer and integrate that in a scene that switchres the entire media corner on off
I hope i can find some time an patience to finish parts of this todo list.


O i realised i also have to find out why me qees is so horrible slow to react. In its current form it is not so useable.
User avatar
structor
Member
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: September 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Vera knowledge centre

Postby Mversluis » Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:26 pm

Smart Q5 now running with android and Home buddy ( Vera remote controller )
Dear forums members.

Since a 3 month or something like that I bought ( just for test purpuses ) a Smart Q5 device.
From my supplier in Hongkong.

Just did some test with the device and trow it somewhere on my desk , because it works not as it should be.

Yesterdag I found the device again and was just wondering of I can install android on it.
the same night I was able to put android version covia ( beta ) on the device.
With some struggeling of android market , finelly I can login and download Home buddy app.

Just installed it and went to settings, put my local ip number on place.


Everything run worth while , just turning light's on and of are working very very fast.
So I will make some test tomorrow

( after complete reinstall , because I change some settings and can't find them any more.)

After reinstall I will make some quick review / quick installation guide.
This would be a great oppertunity to controll vera as it should be.


Next order in hk I will ask my supplier to search arround for other MID versions ( maby within android installed in it)
and run some other test.

Keep you informed.
Best Regards,
Marco
Mversluis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: March 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Vera knowledge centre

Postby AshaiRey » Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:10 pm

Thanks Marco for taking the time for this.
I am looking forward for the results.
Bram
AshaiRey
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: February 2009
Location: Netherlands


Return to Z-Wave Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron