Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Forum and Topics about Z-Wave devices.
Post Reply
slarti
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:27 pm

Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by slarti »

I have a car heating post with a 17,5mm DIN timer module, and I was thinking about replacing the timer with an FGS-211. I found out there are empty 17,5mm DIN rail boxes available. I think the FGS-211 could just fit in the box. My concern is that the Fibaro module is not meant for freezing temperatures and I don't know how the antenna will work in such a small box. Has anyone tried to do anything similar?

Does anyone know of a commercial DIN rail zwave module?

The timer module:

Image
mrqnapper
Member
Member
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by mrqnapper »

Hi, I have two Fibaro switches outside in a closed box. They have been out there since last September and I did not experience any problem with them so far. Temp. have been -15 degrees Celsius over here during that period.

Wiechert.
slarti
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:27 pm

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by slarti »

Thanks! I guess I'll go ahead and order the parts.
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by raymonvdm »

Last week i found a site which is selling din-rail mounting with tape for mounting Fibaro modules

http://www.smartronix.nl/Webwinkel-Prod ... lclip.html
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
slarti
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:27 pm

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by slarti »

raymonvdm wrote:Last week i found a site which is selling din-rail mounting with tape for mounting Fibaro modules

http://www.smartronix.nl/Webwinkel-Prod ... lclip.html
Thanks but I needed to mount it like the timer module. I ended up ordering a CMEB enclosure for it.

The module fits in nicely except for the cover. It's approximately 1mm too thick for the enclosure. It will work for my purpose but it isn't perfect.

Image
nemo136
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:40 am

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by nemo136 »

There is a 'workaround' if you need to use multiple fibaro modules. You can buy an extended enclosure with no lateral covers. With your enclosure and the extension, you can fit two modules inside and close the second enclosure, the two modules fit perfectly inside.
Bergerie
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:48 am

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by Bergerie »

Could you advise what slip-on soldering clips you used?
kriz83
Member
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by kriz83 »

slarti wrote:
raymonvdm wrote: The module fits in nicely except for the cover. It's approximately 1mm too thick for the enclosure. It will work for my purpose but it isn't perfect.
Image
From the picture I can't really see what you mean. Could you explain a little bit more ?
HomeSeer - PlugWise - RFXComm - Philips Pronto TSU9800/9600/9300
kriz83
Member
Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by kriz83 »

Could you clearify ?
HomeSeer - PlugWise - RFXComm - Philips Pronto TSU9800/9600/9300
vincenttor
Member
Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:45 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Replacing a 17,5mm DIN module with FGS-211?

Post by vincenttor »

he probably mean's that the black unit thats inside the din housing is to thick, hence why you stil see the black unit instead of the cover that closes the din unit.
Post Reply

Return to “Z-Wave Forum”