Jeelabs Room board - power usage

All about Arduino, Jeenode and other Clones (hardware & Software)

Moderator: Mdamen

Jeelabs Room board - power usage

Postby vanisher » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:01 pm

I'm using the default sketch (from the workshop :-) ).

Every 300 ms the sensors are read.
Every 2nd cycle the jeenode reports to the jeelink.
PIR movements are reported direct

If i increase the report period, will that save battery consumption?
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 290
Joined: June 2011

Re: Jeelabs Room board - power usage

Postby Digit » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:17 pm

Absolutely.
Don't know how the sketch works exactly, but you could start with motion triggering an interrupt to get the Arduino out of sleep.
And you could do a periodic keep-alive.

With 300 ms the batteries won't last very long I guess...
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Jeelabs Room board - power usage

Postby vanisher » Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:24 pm

Hi Robert,

Little type.. 300 are tents of seconds, so basicly every minute an update is send.

I don't need every minute an update of light/temp/humidity. Once every 5 minutes would be more then enough I guess
Maybe for the bathroom a shorter period would be better as soon as i have the Vent connected to homeseer.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 290
Joined: June 2011

Re: Jeelabs Room board - power usage

Postby jakkes » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:48 pm

Hello, would you like to share your sketch? I lost mine somehow....
jakkes
Member
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: October 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: Jeelabs Room board - power usage

Postby vanisher » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:32 pm

Hey,

I used the lowpower version from: http://jeelabs.net/pub/wk103/HomeSeer/Workshop/JeeNode/

I only had to swap the portnumbers.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 290
Joined: June 2011


Return to Raspberry, Arduino, Cubietruck and other clones Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest