Powermax Pro RS232 pinout

Forum about Visonic products like Powermax Plus and Powermax Pro

Moderators: Rene, Willem4ever

Powermax Pro RS232 pinout

Postby simjoc » Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:20 pm

Hopefully there is somebody who can help me setting up my rs232 connection with my powermax. I think that I'm forgetting something stupid. :(

On the powermax side I connected the rj45 on the left side of the module. For the wireing I used the normal pinout (http://www.diyha.co.uk/electronics/rj45.html)

This is the pinout I used:

Code: Select all
RJ45 (8 pin)   - DB9 (F)
3 (TXD) black  - 2 (RXD)
5 (GND) green  - 5 (GND)
6 (RXD) yellow - 3 (TXD)


GND: half blue
TX: half green
RX: green

The normal connector the rs232 module comes with I don't have. I used a ebay silabs serial to usb module. Is there somebody who knows what I am doing wrong?
User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Powermax Pro RS232 pinout

Postby simjoc » Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:27 pm

eventually the silabs module wasn't working. On the normal com port it's working like a charm!
User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: Powermax Pro RS232 pinout

Postby Rikard » Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:36 pm

Hello Simjoc,

I am trying to connect Powermax <=> Raspberry PI and have some question about the PIN layout.

I have the same PowerMax as seen in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=7152
is that same as you have or do you have a different design?

In your post you mention:
CODE: SELECT ALL
RJ45 (8 pin) - DB9 (F)
3 (TXD) black - 2 (RXD)
5 (GND) green - 5 (GND)
6 (RXD) yellow - 3 (TXD)
Is this one the PowerMax board and what connector are you referring to? The one mention in post viewtopic.php?f=68&t=7152

I guess I am concerned I connect the wires incorrect and break my alarm.

Regards
Rikard
Rikard
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 2015

Re: Powermax Pro RS232 pinout

Postby David405 » Tue Nov 03, 2015 6:05 am

Hopefully there is somebody who can help me setting up my rs232 connection with my powermax. I think that I'm forgetting something stupid.
David405
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 2015


Return to Visonic Alarm systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest