amazon echo

Pop your questions regarding Home automation Domotica hardware here.....

amazon echo

Postby Akatar » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:18 pm

i own a couple of amazon echo's and i like to know if there is a way to make her say something,
like:
when the back door is open: backdoor is open
better then my wife shouting: THERE IS SOMEONE AT THE DOOR

is there a skill that can manage this?
Akatar
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 980
Joined: November 2007
Location: the netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Bwired » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:59 pm

I have an echo too now :)
i don't think this is possible, for now everything needs to be activated by the word "Alexa"
Would be great if amazon added this feature
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Rene » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:09 am

I own a Google Home which also acts as a chromecast renderer. This means you can cast an audio message to it.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Bwired » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:20 pm

thats better and very nice option :), can you fully control your devices also now.
please tell what is possible:)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Akatar » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:12 pm

maybe it's time to switch to google home :)
Akatar
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 980
Joined: November 2007
Location: the netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Rene » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:56 pm

I have created a hue bridge using node.js and integrated my lights this way. I also created an IFTTT endpoint for the maker applet to control the heating. Via IFTTT you can control everything but there is no feedback. For instance, you cannot ask wether the lights are on. Via the hue bridge you can ask wether the lights are on. Currently I'm experimenting notifications using chromecast. First findings are that it has a significant delay.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Akatar » Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:14 am

i am using a dot, when i ask her to do the lights on, she responds with okay
with the google home there is no feedback at all?
Akatar
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 980
Joined: November 2007
Location: the netherlands

amazon echo

Postby Rene » Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:58 pm

Yes the Google Home responds with OK turning the lights in the living room off (for instance). But when you trigger actions via IFTTT you can only respond with a predefined message. If the action cannot be performed for whatever reason, the response will still be the predefined one.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Bwired » Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:28 pm

@Rene you use the ha-bridge for this, I also do and can re-use the Hue interface for own things, this way i can turn lights on and off and open close curtains etc. works all perfectly
for alexa you can add also skills, its a bit complexer.
you than can ask alexa like this: Alexa ask bwired what is the temperature..... you can give a value back and alexa will say this.
Its not only the skill you need own server software as well.
Im busy doing this but takes a while to accomplish :-)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5303
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby Rene » Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:35 am

I am not using ha-bridge anymore, I created my own bridge using node.js to integrate it fully in my setup. Google has something called activities. You can code your own activities but they need to be hosted in the google cloud.
Rene.
User avatar
Rene
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1689
Joined: October 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: amazon echo

Postby richard naninck » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:17 pm

Trying to get myself an Echo as well. I use HouseBot and it has native support for Echo using the HouseBot portal and the Alexa App HouseBot skill. I can't wait to start trying and watched many video's on how to create skills. Would be nice to Ask for stuff with my HA setup return the answers.
One thing I don't get is why I only see deviceType: Switch. A Switch can be turn on and off and it is kind of strange to turn on the curtains or the garagedoor. Siri HomeBridge holds many different deviceTypes with each device having its own way to address by voice. Hopefully Alexa will get that at some point. First I would like it to speak Dutch though;)
If you guys have more intell on deviceTypes or if I missed something, please let me know.
If any of you have an extra Echo or Dot willing to sell, please also let me know :D
richard naninck
Member
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: November 2010


Return to Questions & Discussions Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron