Looking for wired devices.

Pop your questions regarding Home automation Domotica hardware here.....
krijgsman
Starting Member
Starting Member

Looking for wired devices.

Post by krijgsman »

As a new member to this forum I have tried to read the rules and hope that this post is OK. I have already spent much time reading other posts and this post is a result of all the questions that remain unanswered.

I have some experience with home automation but only on a “consumer” level. Currently we are renovating our home (in NL) and I have the excellent opportunity to make a new start; buy decent hardware and configure everything properly.

On the web are a lot of websites dedicated to people who have shared their experiences on how they have implemented home automation at home. The more I have read, the more I get lost. Time is running out, in a few weeks time the ceilings and walls will be closed.
Not everything needs to be done right now. However, there are things that I can do now that will save me from a lot of hassle later.

I’d like to use –wired- hardware as much as possible but I have the trouble finding the proper hardware. I will use wireless alternatives instead but as I can put the wires in place right now I’d love to hear if there are any wired devices that I can use or a good reason why wireless is just as good ;)

1. Motion detection, preferably in ceiling and/or AC powered (for both lights on/of, and security)
2. Window/door detection
3. Smoke detectors (AC powered)

Please note that I haven’t decided on any particular domotica system yet. The availability of wired devices will influence this decision. Buying a complete security system that can communicate with the domotica is also an option but I haven't found any system that is fast enough to communicate (motion detection -> security ->

Any help in this will be highly appreciated.

Kind regards.
Dirk Krijgsman
Alexander
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Looking for wired devices.