Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Forum about Smart meters for Energy, Gas and Water and all related

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby eDsuB » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:28 pm

Hi all, I havent been around much, but my P1 Datalogger has been running for almost a year now at various locations.
See http://sites.google.com/site/nta8130p1smartmeter/ for the visible result.
I am more than happy to supply you with the installable package and how-to instructables.

As my Heat company does not want to connect their Kamstrup Multical 401 to one of the 4 extra registers, I am now in search of a way to get similar data from the Kamstrup Multical 401 via IR. Any help apreciated.
eDsuB
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: January 2010

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby PietjeNL » Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:18 am

IR requires a code to be send to the meter before it releases the telegram.
I seen no gas usage? Am interested in this, have a smart meter with P1, so if u can send me some info please.
PietjeNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: May 2010

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby Bwired » Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:11 pm

for the kamstrup the Ircode to send is not known?
i tried several things on my brothers kamstrup, but no luck
I want a smart meter for bwired but i need to be sure that i can get the decimals! and RS232 on P1 (instead of unhandy USB)
If not i keep my existing stuff, no need to upgrade then, my current Ihtron ace3000 give values via IR with no decimals :(
and I still can use the rfxmeter now, with Kamstrup smart meter I don't know if rfxmeter still works
http://www.bwired.nl Online Home, Domotica, Home Automation. Weblog. http://blog.bwired.nl
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby PietjeNL » Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:31 pm

As far as i know its not changeable in the meter, so probably u need another meter.
To be sure send kamstrup a mail and ask them maybe?
I know that Plugwise can read the p1 and get it into the source, info is here on the forum (pilot enexis smart meter)
PietjeNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: May 2010

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby henkb52 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:10 pm

Hi eDsub,

thanks for the information you supplied about the p1 meter reading. I'm trying to connect an arduino to my Iskra ME382 meter but i don't recieve any signal/telegram. The simplest way is to connect by FTDI TTL-232R-5V-WE and use a laptop and retreat to the metercloset? Can you sent the layout of the pins you connected to the rj11 plug?

Thanks in advance
henkb52
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 2012

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby sirtm » Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:07 pm

All,

Got it working after some time wrestling with pin numbers and wire colors.
I used a Keyspan USB to serial converter on my Mac, I also tested other brands of USB to serial converts and they all worked.

Rj 11 - vs - DB9
1 - Request - 4
2 - GND - 5
3 - NC
4 - Data - 2

I used pin 4 (Data Terminal Ready) of the DB9 for the request signal, but you can take any pin that holds 5Volts

Works like a charm, I used an unused Cat5 cable with a length of approximately 10 meters to get the data from the Kamstrup meter to my Mac mini in the study. Now looking for an application to store the data and make it visible.
sirtm
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 2010

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby hackbox » Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:32 am

@Verkenner,

We just received our meters (Gas and Electricity) and of course I want to get the data out of the P1 as well.
What hardware did you use? Is the fritzbox part of the setup (I have 2 of these 7170's laying around).
hackbox
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 2012

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby genoenhuis » Fri May 04, 2012 6:01 pm

I ordered a cable, and it works perfectly :-) Now i want to capture the data in homeseer, anyone success with that?
genoenhuis
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby sj3fk3 » Fri May 04, 2012 9:21 pm

genoenhuis wrote:I ordered a cable, and it works perfectly :-) Now i want to capture the data in homeseer, anyone success with that?


Just wondering.. Where did you order it? And which one exactly?
Kind Regards,
Greg.
User avatar
sj3fk3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 2012
Location: Abcoude

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby genoenhuis » Sun May 06, 2012 12:05 pm

i ordered this cable http://www.antratek.nl/pdf/DS_TTL232R.pdf, the 5 volt version, then follow the inverting rxd instructions in this thread by 'verkenner'
genoenhuis
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: March 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby ChrisPW » Mon May 21, 2012 9:32 pm

pjanssen wrote:We hooked the meter to a arduino board with ethernet shield. I programmed the device to parse the information from out meter and send it via HTTP request to a server.


@ pjanssen,

They just installed my new electricity and gas meter. It has a P1-connector.
I tried to hook it to an Arduino, and got data, however not what i expected.
I am trying using the SoftwareSerial library from V1.0. however this is based on 9600 8N1, instead of 7E2.

Is it posible to post the code for the Arduino?
ChrisPW
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2012

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby sirtm » Tue May 22, 2012 9:09 pm

As far as I know you should use 9600 7E1,
you should expect to see readable data, like:
0-0:96.1.1(205A41424630xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)
1-0:1.8.1(00091.000*kWh)
1-0:1.8.2(00056.000*kWh)
1-0:2.8.1(00088.000*kWh)
1-0:2.8.2(00151.000*kWh)
0-0:96.14.0(0002)
1-0:1.7.0(0000.36*kW)
1-0:2.7.0(0000.00*kW)
0-0:17.0.0(999*A)
0-0:96.3.10(1)
0-0:96.13.1()
0-0:96.13.0()
0-1:24.1.0(3)
sirtm
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 2010

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby sj3fk3 » Tue May 22, 2012 11:11 pm

W00H00!!

/XMX5XMXABCD100006030

0-0:96.1.1(4B383257303039373436313737393131)
1-0:1.8.1(000001.118*kWh)
1-0:1.8.2(000011.199*kWh)
1-0:2.8.1(000000.000*kWh)
1-0:2.8.2(000000.000*kWh)
0-0:96.14.0(0001)
1-0:1.7.0(00000.65*kW)
1-0:2.7.0(00000.00*kW)
0-0:17.0.0(999*A)
0-0:96.3.10(1)
0-0:96.13.1()
0-0:96.13.0()
!
Kind Regards,
Greg.
User avatar
sj3fk3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 2012
Location: Abcoude

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby ChrisPW » Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:48 pm

Almost there.


/XMX5XMXABCD100012575

0-0:96.1.1(4B383257303039373836393837313131)
1-0:1.8.1(000053.971*kWh)
-1.0052k)1:.1000*W
-2.0000k)
064(0)1:7(008W
02.000*)0:.09*
-9311
0611
-91.)0:.0383131130311)0:..0
-23(2220(C6((122)3
009)0:4.2

Looks like some dataflow problem.
Tring to capture the data with an Arduin directly connected to the smart meter.
Anybody has an idea what is going wrong?
ChrisPW
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2012

Re: Reading the P1 port of a NTA8130 Dutch Smart Meter

Postby pjanssen » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:27 am

I got a PM from pietervanharen but i am not able to replay. Too less posts i guess.

I enabled email notification for this topic but somehow it did not work. (Sorry for that).

@ChrisPW
I used the serial buffer from the arduino because it does not block the board on reading. I have 2 soladin 600 and a smartmeter connected to one arduino doing a interval of ~60 seconds.

@pietervanharen
Could u pm me a mail adres or something than ill send u the information.
pjanssen
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Smart Metering Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest