splitting P1 to 2 device's

Forum about Smart meters for Energy, Gas and Water and all related

splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby Ruud » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:20 am

Is there a simple way to use two device's over one P1 port.
I have two device's i want to use Toon (eneco) and Smile (plugwise)
Ruud (rualblas)
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 840
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby vanisher » Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:11 pm

Good question. In the near future I'll get a 'Laadpaal' for my hybrid car.. That Laadpaal can be connected to a smartmeter.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
A Domotica starter, currently running: Plugwise, Z-Wave, Jeenods, Homeseer / DomotiGa
vanisher
Member
Member
 
Posts: 290
Joined: June 2011

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby marcelr » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:38 pm

Google for "serial splitter"

grtz,

marcelr
marcelr
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 575
Joined: May 2012
Location: Ehv

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby mo046 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:42 pm

Hi there,

I use a simple telephone splitter. The thing is, one of the signal lines is being used to "trigger" the P1 port to start sending the datagrams. The trigger line is (whenI remember well) pulling up the input of the P1 port to 5 Volt. This is done by the device connected to the P1 port.
However, you will be attaching two devices that both trigger the P1 port. I'm not shure if this will cause problems, that's why I have a master device that triggers the P1 port. The second device is only listening, I disconnected the trigger port from the connector of the second device in order to avoid any electrical interference with the master device.

Hope this helps.
** Maurice **
mo046
Member
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby pklijnjan » Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:59 pm

I use a simple splitter. I read the P1 port with a homeseer script and also connect my Toon In the splitter I cut the wire from the toon meter reader (trigger)
It work fine for both devices.
pklijnjan
Member
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: August 2009
Location: Netherlands

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby PietjeNL » Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:37 am

The Smile P1 could have the "old" hardware.
They replaced my P1 wire and now i dont have any problems anymore.
Using a normal telephone splitter aswell.
PietjeNL
Member
Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: May 2010

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby sincze » Sat Jun 14, 2014 6:20 pm

mo046 wrote:Hi there,

I use a simple telephone splitter. The thing is, one of the signal lines is being used to "trigger" the P1 port to start sending the datagrams. The trigger line is (whenI remember well) pulling up the input of the P1 port to 5 Volt. This is done by the device connected to the P1 port.
However, you will be attaching two devices that both trigger the P1 port. I'm not shure if this will cause problems, that's why I have a master device that triggers the P1 port. The second device is only listening, I disconnected the trigger port from the connector of the second device in order to avoid any electrical interference with the master device.

Hope this helps.


I can confirm this is fully working for 2 Raspberrys reading the P1 ;-) and dealing with the data. :)
sincze
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: June 2014
Location: Breda

Re: splitting P1 to 2 device's

Postby Ruud » Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:23 am

Witch pin number ??
Ruud (rualblas)
Ruud
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 840
Joined: January 2008
Location: Rijswijk (Z.H)


Return to Smart Metering Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest