Help using openthermonitor

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTG) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

Help using openthermonitor

Postby Edwin » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:17 am

I want to use the opentherm monitor for the first time
I use usb for testing it and have a celcia 20 connect to it for test,
no boiler yet.
i go to settings and select the celcia 20 and overide the temp. On the thermostat there is a error (fout 203)
I also see nothing happening in the statistics
What is wrong or what do i wrong?
How can i check in this setup that the openthermgateway is working?
when i start opentherm gateway diagnostics i get:error 01 a lot of numbers with the numbers at the end in red 349,652

I bought it already asembled on openthermgateway.com

Thanks
Edwin
Edwin
Member
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: October 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Digit » Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:50 pm

How can i check in this setup that the openthermgateway is working?

Adding a boiler to the mix will help I guess, Opentherm is 2-way communication but you left out one side of it.
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Bwired » Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:33 pm

Yes, you need both to make it work....
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Edwin » Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:05 pm

Bwired wrote:Yes, you need both to make it work....

So... I cant test the gateway without a boiler just to see if the gateway is comunicating?
Edwin
Member
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: October 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Digit » Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:34 pm

Well, not the things you are trying to test.

The thermostat is in error mode, it doesn't "see" a boiler - it's missing its counterpart to be able to do it's job.
So testing override is a bit premature.

What did you expect to see in the statistics?
And then ask yourself: what device provides this information?
Just connect the boiler... just do it. :wink:
User avatar
Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby hvxl » Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:59 pm

Believe it or not, that sounds good. The thermostat is sending an opentherm message every second. The diagnostic firmware measures the times and reports them. Only the last two times fall outside the opentherm specifications. That is a known issue with a Celcia. So now you can flash the actual gateway firmware. If you use firmware version 3.4, you will have to issue the command IT=1. After that you should see opentherm messages from the thermostat on the log tab. It's probably going to be the same message over and over because the thermostat never gets a response from the boiler. Then connect the boiler and see everything come to life.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: June 2010

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Edwin » Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:10 pm

thank you, thats what i ment
i dont have the opentherm boiler yet ,thats why i wanted to test it so much as possible.
greetings
edwin
Edwin
Member
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: October 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Edwin » Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:38 pm

ok the firmware is flashed,and its working ;-)

Thanks to you all.
Edwin
Member
Member
 
Posts: 447
Joined: October 2007
Location: Netherlands

Re: Help using openthermonitor

Postby Bwired » Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:49 pm

great :)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5309
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands


Return to Opentherm Gateway Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron