New Atom D510

Forum to Introduce Home Automation Domotica related hardware here.....

New Atom D510

Postby simjoc » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:42 am

Science a month is the new atom D510 available for purchase. I was wondering anyone was considering to buy the new motherboard.

The Asus AT5NM10-I is available for €85, what is the same for the atom 330. The big difference is the lower TDP and the passive cooling. Tomshardware wrote a review about the new board, what can be found tomshardware.com/reviews/atom-d510-d510 ... ,2507.html.

There is still one memory channel, but the support for two banks of memory. This is not totally new, because the ION chip-set has that also.

In the review they are not very stunning about the new board, but I'm curious what you'll think of the new board. I'm still using the old Intel single core board and whit extending my Homeseer setup I'll now get a lack of processor capacity.

Image
User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

New Atom D510

Postby Verkenner » Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:49 pm

This weekend I ordered this:
Intel MOBO with Processor D510 mini-itx ddr2-800 atom 510 cpu (boxd510mo), has 2 serials RS232
Memory 2Gig ram DDR-2 Team Elite (one slot)
Transcend SSD 64 gbyte disk sata 2,5 inch MLS
WD caviar greenpower 1,5 Terabyte intellipower 5400 rpm 3,0gb/s 64 mb cache 3,6 inch
MS-Win 7 home prem oem 32bit NL
Huntkey miditower C507 no psu
PSU pico 120watt
See: http://www.excaliberpc.com/595060/intel ... intel.html and http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/m ... erview.htm
This PC must be : Zuinig, Stil en beetje snel .
Expected Use of this PC is roughly 30 Watts.
The D510 has a TDM of 13 Watt ( http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=43098)

Domotica server 24/7 HomeSeer Pro and Media Server (Photo, music and perhaps a little video)

I did not receive the computer up til now.
Regards, Verkenner
Last edited by Verkenner on Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Atom D510

Postby drmacchi » Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:43 pm

I'm curios about watt usage. Please post your experience. Ciao
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

Re: New Atom D510

Postby simjoc » Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:23 am

With the above setup I'll think you we have something less then 30 watt. 20 watt mobo and about 0-2 watt for the hdd. Maybe some usb products. That will be actually nice :)
User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Atom D510

Postby RDNZL » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:15 am

Keep in mind that most of the time when dealing with an Atom motherboard the chip-set is the big energy user, not the Atom processor.

I'm on the look out for the Zotac NM10-DTX wifi, because it has 4x SATA-300, 2x SATA-600, and 1 eSATA port, making it an excellent NAS/domotica server board.
It's not in the shops yet, although it's listed as 'available soon' on more shops every day.
Regards, Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 996
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

Re: New Atom D510

Postby simjoc » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:30 am

User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: December 2008
Location: Netherlands

D510 with Intell mini-itx

Postby Verkenner » Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:11 pm

Intel MOBO with Processor D510 mini-itx ddr2-800 atom 510 cpu (boxd510mo), has 2 serials RS232
Memory 2Gig ram DDR-2 Team Elite (one slot)
Transcend SSD 64 gbyte disk sata 2,5 inch MLS S-ata
WD caviar greenpower 1,5 Terabyte intellipower 5400 rpm 3,0gb/s 64 mb cache 3,6 inch S-ata
MS-Win 7 home prem oem 32bit NL
PSU pico 120watt and power adapter from laptop 120 Watt.
Huntkey miditower C507 (No PSU)
PC-cooling totally passiv (NO fans), so very quiet.

Usage in idle: 19,6 Watt (with plugwise)

Best regards, Verkenner
EDIT: NO DVD-player because only 2 S-ata.
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Atom D510

Postby drmacchi » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:36 pm

Very good ! Just a question : you say "has 2 rs232" , but are these in add-on card (pci-xpress) ? i don't seem then in the picture
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 827
Joined: August 2007
Location: Italy

Re: New Atom D510

Postby j.hoekstra » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:42 pm

drmacchi wrote:Very good ! Just a question : you say "has 2 rs232" , but are these in add-on card (pci-xpress) ? i don't seem then in the picture

According to: intel.com/products/desktop/motherboards ... erview.htm:

I/O control Legacy I/O:

* Two PS/2 ports
* Two serial headers
* Parallel header
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: June 2009
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Re: New Atom D510

Postby Verkenner » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:57 pm

Yes, 2 RS232 ports onboard.
That's strange because it's a brandnew MoBo with old RS232-ports.
But I'm glad with the RS232-ports because of the Serial (analog) CLIP-modem an de Serial temp. measuring.

Rgrds, Verkenner
Best regards, Verkenner
Verkenner
Member
Member
 
Posts: 333
Joined: May 2008
Location: Netherlands


Return to Announcements & News Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest