Locked out, no root user?

If your (rooted) Toon doesn't do what it's supposed to, post here. Dutch allowed / Posten in 't Nederlands toegestaan.

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, Toonz

martjah
Starting Member
Starting Member

Locked out, no root user?

Post by martjah »

Hi,

I've been running Toon for 8 months now and it has been working great. But i've lost root access somehow overnight it seems. I wanted to download the latest .ics file for the waste calendar when i found out i've had no more access to Toon.
So, via serial and ssh it asks for a username and password. But i cannot login. I'm entering the correct password (100%).
Is there a way to reset the password file? Mayb via the ToonStore?

I'm not a Linux expert but i think something is wrong with the password file because of this message: chown: unknown user/group root:root

I've implemented the "maintain root access after update" but i've not updated Toon anymore after i wrote the manual (and tested it)
ridge firewalling registered
rtc-isl1208 1-006f: setting system clock to 2018-02-25 16:15:18 UTC (1519575318)
UBIFS: recovery needed
UBIFS: recovery completed
UBIFS: mounted UBI device 0, volume 0, name "rootfs"
UBIFS: file system size: 117833728 bytes (115072 KiB, 112 MiB, 928 LEBs)
UBIFS: journal size: 9023488 bytes (8812 KiB, 8 MiB, 72 LEBs)
UBIFS: media format: w4/r0 (latest is w4/r0)
UBIFS: default compressor: lzo
UBIFS: reserved for root: 0 bytes (0 KiB)
usb 2-1: new high speed USB device using mxc-ehci and address 2
VFS: Mounted root (ubifs filesystem) on device 0:13.
Freeing init memory: 104K
usb 2-1: New USB device found, idVendor=148f, idProduct=5370
usb 2-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 2-1: Product: 802.11 n WLAN
usb 2-1: Manufacturer: Ralink
usb 2-1: SerialNumber: 1.0
INIT: version 2.86 booting
(print_boot_msg)
Please wait: booting... (print_boot_msg)
* Kernel 2.6.36-R10-h27 (print_boot_msg)
* Firmware qb2/ene/4.4.21-1091-0 (print_boot_msg)