Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Forum about the Toon firmware, and its extensions

Moderators: marcelr, TheHogNL, TerrorSource, Toonz

Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby michaelology » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Is it possible to reset the toon back to factory settings and keep SSH access? I don't want to have to root it again to get SSH access back.
michaelology
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2018

Re: Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby TheHogNL » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:45 pm

Factory settings will always retain root access as this will only reset the user data (like wifi settings, graphs, installed apps etc).

Recovery (only available on a toon2) will lose root access.
Member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
TheHogNL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 964
Joined: August 2017

Re: Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby TerrorSource » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:03 am

michaelology wrote:Is it possible to reset the toon back to factory settings and keep SSH access? I don't want to have to root it again to get SSH access back.


Press the "Herstel" in the "Software" tab in the "Instellingen" menu.
It will remove all data and reset the Toon to factory defaults, meaning that there is no activation.
Activation can be set by editing the scsync.xml file via SSH. Save file first, check it and reboot afterwards.
See the settings which needs to be edited: https://www.domoticaforum.eu/viewtopic. ... 235#p83254
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 266
Joined: May 2017

Re: Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby Toonz » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:14 am

Doesn't a factory reset also force a firmware upgrade when connected to the Eneco VPN? That's not what you want to happen obviously....
member of the Toon Software Collective
User avatar
Toonz
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: December 2016

Re: Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby TerrorSource » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:30 am

Toonz wrote:Doesn't a factory reset also force a firmware upgrade when connected to the Eneco VPN? That's not what you want to happen obviously....


Not that i've seen so far but i'm not 100% sure.
Then the OP needs to check if the VPN is closed before rebooting :)
TerrorSource
Member
Member
 
Posts: 266
Joined: May 2017

Re: Set toon back to factory settings while retaining SSH?

Postby mAiden » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:37 pm

Toonz wrote:Doesn't a factory reset also force a firmware upgrade when connected to the Eneco VPN? That's not what you want to happen obviously....



Yes, for sure, Toon will check if there is a newer version if you do a factory reset. Disable you're VPN before you do it.
mAiden
Member
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: July 2017


Return to Toon Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MP51 and 1 guest