Software gps track/trace

Pop your questions regarding Home automation software here.....
Post Reply
Kroonen
Member
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Software gps track/trace

Post by Kroonen »

Most of the GSM have GPS on their device.

I should be possible to simply send the gps coordinates to your own site (database) (5 min interval) and those placed on a googlemaps?

Is there any software which does that??

So a client on Symbian (Nokia E71( that sends the coordiantes to an mysql database, with a query ge results and combine it with googlemaps
User avatar
Snelvuur
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Snelvuur »

for pocketpc's there is something called "trackme"

// Erik (binkey.nl)
User avatar
Jeroen Bartels
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:23 pm
Location: Netherlands

Software gps track/trace

Post by Jeroen Bartels »

I have an e71 too and also would really like to have this option.
But an MYSQL whatever is already too complicated for me...
drmacchi
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:48 pm
Location: Italy

Software gps track/trace

Post by drmacchi »

Digit
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3388
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:23 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Digit »

Trackme works great (trip loaded in Google Earth):

Image
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Bwired »

Trackme is great, they even have advanced PHP server to log to your own server.
I use trackme also and made a server program for it in classic ASP.
check also the latest topics on http://www.domoticaforum.eu/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=616
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by RDNZL »

I have written a trackme client for my Android G1 dev phone.
and build the server side in DomotiGa's webclient, still work in progress.

Pieter, where do you get your reverse geocode data from?

Regards,
Ron.
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Bwired »

sendString = geoLat & "," & geoLong
strURL = "http://maps.google.com/maps/geo?output=xml&oe=utf-8&ll=" & sendString & "&key=$key"
This gives an XML file back from google, very easy!
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by RDNZL »

I have used this script to test the functionality.

Works ok!

Code: Select all

<?php

   // Your Google Maps API key
   $key = "YOUR_KEY_HERE";

   // Connect to the MySQL database
   $conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "user", "password");

   // Select the database
   $db = mysql_select_db("trackme");

   // Query the table
   $query = "SELECT Latitude, Longitude FROM positions";
   $result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

   // Loop through each row, submit HTTP request, output coordinates
   while (list( $Latitude, $Longitude) = mysql_fetch_row($result))
   {
      $mapaddress = urlencode("$Latitude $Longitude");

      // Desired address
      $url = "http://maps.google.com/maps/geo?q=$Latitude,$Longitude&output=xml&oe=utf8&sensor=false&key=$key";
      // Retrieve the URL contents
      $page = file_get_contents($url);

      // Parse the returned XML file
      $xml = new SimpleXMLElement($page);

      // Parse the coordinate string
      list($Address) = $xml->Response->Placemark->address;

      // Output the coordinates and first address received
      echo "\"$Longitude\",\"$Latitude\",\"$Address\"<br />";
   }
?>
Thanks and Regards,
Ron
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Bwired »

Mooi he :-)
Great functionality of google!
I get the address as soon as the data (lat long) is coming in on my server.
So I receive the the GPS data of my cell phone and while I store this in my database I use the google web service for reverse Geocoding, all at once and therefore real-time.
As I can see you are not doing this realtime?
dutchnomad
Member
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:03 am
Location: Netherlands

Software gps track/trace

Post by dutchnomad »

@RDNZL
I think that Google willnot be very happy when you send them a request for all positions that you retrieve in your query to the positions table!! (Or I do not understand the php stuff :))
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by Bwired »

You can retrieve with 1 key like 10.000 addresses a day.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Software gps track/trace

Post by RDNZL »

@dutchnomad:
I have been testing a lot the last days... I didn't hear google complaining ;-)
They didn't made that API for nothing... ok if you are a company or have 10000's of queries, they want you to contact them they say, to make a special arrangement I guess ;)

@Bwired:
Yes I do it realtime, this was only a test routine... to see if it is giving results that I can live with
dutchnomad
Member
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:03 am
Location: Netherlands

Software gps track/trace

Post by dutchnomad »

Oke that is no problem for Google I suppose, however I wonder what would be a reason todo the query for all points? since TrackMe (I use it already for a long time and use the php server on my onw server) works with trips I can imagine that you determine the address of the starting point and the end point of the trip.
Besides that It would be nice to do an address lookup at request, based on 1 specific lat/lon combination.

But it is fun stuff!
Post Reply

Return to “Questions & Discussions Forum”