Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Alles m.b.t. de Fritzbox plugin van Robert Hekkers overgenomen door Rien du Pre(DUTCH forum)

Moderator: RdP

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby RDNZL » Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:30 pm

It's stable now for a few days, all I did was connect the analog tel line from my fritzbox to my glasfiber genexis modem analog port. (the line was not working yet, so I left it unconnected) Strange...
Regards, Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby RDNZL » Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:14 pm

Playing BF:BC2 is something my Fritzbox still can't handle. I can download > 12 mkv 1080p torrents concurrently without a problem and surf the net at the same time, but just playing a game online makes it unstable, I lost my faith in the product.
I opened a ticket, and got this answer... the reply is so big and useless, clearly a standard answer on a reboot issue, because they have loads of issue like this.

Dear Mr ... ,

Thank you very much for your enquiry.

If the FRITZ!Box occaissionally reboots during which all LEDs briefly flash
and the Internet connection and telephony calls are interrupted, please
proceed as follows:

- Please ensure that you are using the provided, original AC/DC power
adapter.

- Does the problem persist, when all cables and devices (apart from the
power supply) are detached from the FRITZ!Box?

- If the restart occurs during the use of a file sharing application (e.g.
eMule, BitTorrent), the problem might be caused by its settings. In this
case, please reduce the number of simultaneous connections in the file
sharing application.

- If the problem persists, check the "Overview" page whether the message
"Changes not supported by manufacturer" is displayed.

- If this message is displayed, please apply the attached Recovery Tool
so that you can test whether the problem can be solved. Please apply
the Recovery Tool as described below.

- If this message is not displayed, restore the factory settings as
follows:
1. Please save the current settings (System > Save Settings).
2. Restore the Factory Settings (System > Reset > Factory Settings >
Restart FRITZ!Box and Restore Factory Settings).
3. Set up a basic configuration and test the behaviour. If the problem
does not persist, restore the saved settings (System > Save Settings
> tab "Restore"). However, if the problem does appear again, you'd
have to repeat above steps and then reconfigure manually.

If the reboots still occur, the automatic restarts are initiated by the
FRITZ!Box as a security mechanism that is triggered by errors (often as a
result of overload). A reset puts the FRITZ!Box back into a stable
condition.

Various optimisation have been implemented up to the current firmware in
order to minimise the number of such reboots. Further improvements will be
implemented in a future firmware update.

At this stage, we cannot predict when the next firmware update will be
released and which features will actually be implemented as it has to pass
various thorough test phases. These tests can reveal that certain
development stages are not completed, thus postponing the final release. I
can only beg for your patience and that you occasionally check our website
at http://webgw.avm.de:8080/download/Updat ... sp?lang=en, where all
updates are announced.


XXX

How to use the recovery tool:

Please apply the Recovery Tool for your FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7390
International Edition, available at
ftp://ftp.avm.de/fritz.box/fritzbox.fon ... c/english/

Before running the Recovery Tool, please read the following instructions
carefully.

Please note the Recovery Tool will delete all individual settings of the
FRITZ!Box, e.g. Internet access settings, Internet telephony settings etc.

First of all, verify that the PC you will be using for the recovery
procedure is connected to a "LAN" port of the FRITZ!Box and that the PC is
running either Windows 2000, XP, Vista or 7.

Secondly, the TCP/IP configuration of the network adapter should be set as
follows.

You will find the respective settings via Start > Settings > Control Panel
> Network Connections > right-click the respective LAN connection >
Properties > Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) > Properties.

The basic settings must look as follows:
* Enable option "Use the following IP address"
* IP address: 192.168.178.x (x=2...251). Do not assign 192.168.178.1, as
it is used by the FRITZ!Box itself
* Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
* Default gateway: 192.168.178.1
* Enable option "Use the following DNS server addresses"
* Preferred DNS server: 192.168.178.1

Now click "Advanced" and "WINS"
On this tab, enable the following two options:
"Enable LMHOSTS lookup"
"Enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP"
Save the changes by clicking OK > OK > Close.

Please close any active firewall application on your system. If Windows XP
Service Pack 2 is installed on your system, the implemented firewall may
also be active. Disable this firewall via Start > Settings > Control Panel
> Windows Firewall.

For security reasons you should disconnect the DSL cable as long as the
security software is disabled.
1. Double-click the file FRITZ_BOX_...RECOVER-IMAGE.EXE. Click "Next".
2. When Windows reports that changes need to be applied regarding Media
Sensing, click "Yes" and "OK". Windows will now reboot and launch the
recovery tool again. In case the tool, does not start automatically,
run the FRITZ_BOX_...RECOVER-IMAGE.EXE.
3. When the program prompts you to disconnect the power supply ("
Disconnect power line"), remove the power cord from the FRITZ!Box and
click "Next".
4. Reconnect the power cord when prompted by the red message "Please
connect FRITZ!Box to the power mains now!".
5. Click the button "Next", once it is no longer greyed out.
6. If the program reports that the recovery has failed, repeat steps 2) to
5). It may be necessary to go through these steps up to 6 times! If
this is also unsuccessful, please apply the tool via a different PC!
7. When the program reports that the process was successful, you can close
the program.

You should now be able to reach the user interface again via your browser
by entering
http://fritz.box or http://192.168.178.1

Please note:
The program has to be executed up to six times to be successful.

Best regards,

... (AVM Support)
Regards, Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby RDNZL » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:18 pm

Ok, got a reply from avm, they want more info.
I now know how to create detailed support info to send to them.
It already contains an important lead, it kernel panics on the ath driver (atheros wlan driver)

Code: Select all
<3>Call Trace:
<3>[<c13a4978>] ath_node_xmit_single+0x184/0xffe3180c [ath_pci]
<3>[<c129ca78>] ieee80211_input+0x1d48/0xffee22d0 [wlan]
<3>[<c13989a4>] ath_rx_poll+0x10ac/0xffe3e708 [ath_pci]
<3>[<c1398e54>] ath_rx_tasklet+0x1c/0xffe3d1c8 [ath_pci]
<3>[<c1398ee8>] ath_tasklet+0x88/0xffe3d1a0 [ath_pci]
<3>[<8003c600>] tasklet_action+0xa0/0xe0
<3>[<8003c10c>] __do_softirq+0x60/0xcc
<3>[<8003c1c0>] do_softirq+0x48/0x68
<3>[<80016c3c>] do_IRQ+0x24/0x34
<3>[<800115c4>] adi_6843_dispatch_irq+0x9c/0x1d8
<3>[<8001176c>] plat_irq_dispatch+0x6c/0x100
<3>
<4>
<4>Code: 1ae00006  00000000  8e220028 <8c4300f8> 90620001  34420020  a0620001  8e020024  10400005
<3>Call Trace:
<3>[<8001bba4>] dump_stack+0x8/0x34
<3>[<8003631c>] panic+0x34/0x1f0
<3>[<8001c358>] die+0xc8/0xd0
<3>[<8001fc9c>] do_page_fault+0x24c/0x3c0
<3>[<80015448>] ret_from_exception+0x0/0x14
<3>[<c13a4978>] ath_node_xmit_single+0x184/0xffe3180c [ath_pci]
<3>[<c129ca78>] ieee80211_input+0x1d48/0xffee22d0 [wlan]
<3>[<c13989a4>] ath_rx_poll+0x10ac/0xffe3e708 [ath_pci]
<3>[<c1398e54>] ath_rx_tasklet+0x1c/0xffe3d1c8 [ath_pci]
<3>[<c1398ee8>] ath_tasklet+0x88/0xffe3d1a0 [ath_pci]
<3>[<8003c600>] tasklet_action+0xa0/0xe0
<3>[<8003c10c>] __do_softirq+0x60/0xcc
<3>[<8003c1c0>] do_softirq+0x48/0x68
<3>[<80016c3c>] do_IRQ+0x24/0x34
<3>[<800115c4>] adi_6843_dispatch_irq+0x9c/0x1d8
<3>[<8001176c>] plat_irq_dispatch+0x6c/0x100
<3>
<0>Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception in interrupt
<4>


Didn't expect that. :shock:
At the moment it reboots I don't do anything active with wlan, but my google phone and iPad are on doing background jobs.
Will test more this evening, and also disable WLAN.
Regards, Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby RDNZL » Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:00 am

The reboot/kernel panic of the fritzbox is triggered when my android phone is connected to the fritzbox via wlan, and the signal is weak/lost and it switches back and forth between wlan and 3g.
Have to test if other WLAN devices trigger the same bug.

It has nothing to do with LAN traffic or gaming, just WLAN.
When my phone has good WLAN reach when I'm downstairs all is fine too, just when is reconnects a lot because of bad signal the trouble starts.

I'm glad I can narrow it down to some specific part of this device.
When WLAN is disabled it doesn't reboot/panic anymore.
Regards, Ron.
User avatar
RDNZL
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 1005
Joined: September 2006
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby mverduyn » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:03 pm

ik heb ook een 7390
onder internet, connection settings, moet ik connect via LAN kiezen? (verbinden met Ziggo ebee)

groet, Marcel
mverduyn
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 2013

Re: Welke Fritzbox versie is de beste keuze?

Postby j.hoekstra » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:14 pm

Ik neem aan dat je er al uit bent, maar dat zou de optie zijn.
Ik heb met laatste release firmware volgende opties:
Connecting to a Cable Modem (Cable Connection)
Select this kind of connection if the "LAN 1" port of the FRITZ!Box is connected to a cable modem that establishes the Internet connection.
External Modem or Router
Select this kind of connection if the "LAN 1" port of the FRITZ!Box is connected to an already existing external modem or router.


Heb geen verschil tussen beide kunnen vinden.
j.hoekstra
Member
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: June 2009
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Previous

Return to Homeseer Fritz!box Plugin Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest