Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTGW) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

Locked
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by hvxl »

Otmonitor 4.0b3 has the option to connect to the system DBus. It also includes some information on how to set it up. Just point your web browser to the server and port that you configured for the web server. Then navigate to Resources -> Using DBus.
Schelte
sappien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by sappien »

hvxl wrote:Otmonitor 4.0b3 has the option to connect to the system DBus. It also includes some information on how to set it up. Just point your web browser to the server and port that you configured for the web server. Then navigate to Resources -> Using DBus.

Code: Select all

import dbus
bus = dbus.SystemBus()
ot = dbus.Interface(bus.get_object('com.tclcode.otmonitor', '/'),
        dbus_interface='com.tclcode.otmonitor')
print ot.Command('PR=A')
and for BASH script usage :

Code: Select all

eval 'dbus-launch --auto-syntax' "dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest=com.tclcode.otmonitor / com.tclcode.otmonitor.Command :PR=A"
sappien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by sappien »

It's working!! :D
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by hvxl »

sappien wrote:It's working!! :D
What is working? The overly complicated bash command line you mentioned in your earlier post, with otmonitor connected to the system bus?

OK, it works, but it contains several unnecessary things: First, the eval is only needed because you put the rest between single- and double quotes. Drop the quotes and you won't need the eval. Second, the dbus-launch starts a session dbus while you only need the system dbus, which always exists.

So you could simplify to:

Code: Select all

dbus-send --system --print-reply --dest=com.tclcode.otmonitor / com.tclcode.otmonitor.Command :PR=A
Schelte
sappien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by sappien »

You're right (again) :roll:

The system bus on my system works fine
Templar
Member
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:49 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by Templar »

I tried to upload a logfile but failed.
Your file upload was unsuccessful because the file doesn't appear to be an otmonitor log file.
It has updated info about the Honeywell Chronotherm Vision Modulation thermostat.
Attachments
otlog-20140112.zip
logfile OT Monitor 4.0b3
(99.5 KiB) Downloaded 444 times
sappien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by sappien »

@Schelte,

When I try to set SH= higher then 66 I get a BV error.
targa
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:38 pm

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by targa »

Hi,
I'm new to this forum and also to home automation but into electronics and computers (linux) and modifying stuff in general.

I stumbled into this forum (hope I'm not disturbing your discussion) because I was searching for Open Therm, this term I took from my heater control unit which I used to replace my the old one after buying the house I now live in. I used a CETA 104 to replace the stock unit which didn't have another function as a thermostat. The new one can lower temperature during night, heat up the use water every week to avoid bacteria and is fed by an external temperature sensor.

I saw it has an OpenTherm Connector, thus I wondered how I can make use of it. I was searching and didn't find any documentation or anything up to now. As far as I understand this can only be an OpenTherm Slave, right ?

Will I be able to use openterm to monitor i.e. the temperature ? Or do I need a room thermostate that acts as Master in order to be able to use the OT GW ?

For the future I think about extending it by actually controlling (or even remote control) the heating. Can the GW accept commands sent in by something else than OpenTherm ? i.e. XML

Thanks for advice.
sappien
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by sappien »

targa
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:38 pm

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by targa »

yes, thanks especially for the 2nd link which I hadn't found before. While it doesn't give too many details it's what I was after and the details come probably when needed.

Guess, next steps would be to pull the old Willem programmer from my moving boxes to program the PIC which I need to order, solder it to a board and connect it to my ceta then...

Hope I find enough time ;) Otherwise I'll probably order pre-programmed PIC and pre-built PCB ;)

Don't yet catch why a 15V~ transformer is being used to drive a 5V regulator ? Won't this generate a lot of heat ? Would a 1A-abandoned-USB Switched Supply do the trick ? Guess yes, since the 7805 is 1A type only as well ?

Thanks for advice.
targa
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:38 pm

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by targa »

One more question:
the USB Cable, does it come with some USB logic anyway ? Is it a regular USB to serial converter accepting TTL voltages ?
yjb
Member
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:15 pm
Location: Venhuizen, Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by yjb »

targa wrote:
Don't yet catch why a 15V~ transformer is being used to drive a 5V regulator ? Won't this generate a lot of heat ? Would a 1A-abandoned-USB Switched Supply do the trick ? Guess yes, since the 7805 is 1A type only as well ?
The 7805 feeds the logic that resides on the board. Beyond that we need some 20 Volts to put signals on the Opentherm bus. Have a look at the schematic (http://otgw.tclcode.com/schematic.html#schematic)
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2029
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by hvxl »

sappien wrote:When I try to set SH= higher then 66 I get a BV error.
The gateway keeps track of the setpoint limits the boiler reported via MsgID 49. If you try to set the setpoint above the upper limit or below the lower limit, the gateway will reject the value.
Schelte
targa
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:38 pm

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by targa »

@yjb, from schematic I see that I don't need +24V if I'm only talking to the master, or ?

Just I checked the manual again and it seems that my device seems to "serve" OpenTherm.
yjb
Member
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:15 pm
Location: Venhuizen, Netherlands

Re: Opentherm Gateway 4.0 alpha/beta testers wanted

Post by yjb »

targa wrote:@yjb, from schematic I see that I don't need +24V if I'm only talking to the master, or ?
Looking at the schema, it seems not required when omitting the thermostat, but only Schelte will be able to confirm.
Locked

Return to “Opentherm Gateway Forum”