New Google Nest has NO Opentherm

This Forum is about the Opentherm gateway (OTG) from Schelte

Moderator: hvxl

New Google Nest has NO Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:51 am

Hi Schelte

Would be great if the new Google Nest will work with the Otgw
i will try this out of course :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsksiPRO62E
http://www.installatie.nl/nieuws/nieuwe ... opentherm/
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby hvxl » Fri Nov 20, 2015 1:52 pm

I'm curious, but don't expect much. These so-called smart thermostats allow the user to change the setpoint via an app, so they see no point in doing it through opentherm as well. I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't even report the room temperature or the setpoint via opentherm.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: June 2010

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:25 pm

could be that it's even not possible to put the OTGW in between?
let see, if its not possible I sell the Nest again :-)
keep you posted
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby hvxl » Fri Nov 20, 2015 9:24 pm

If a thermostat doesn't work with a gateway in between, it is not truly Opentherm compliant. So I'm fairly confident that won't be an issue.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: June 2010

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:59 pm

Hi Schelte,
I tested the Google Nest and not everything is working
Setpoint and the Roomtemp are not working on the otgw

so if i give a setpoint on the otgw nothing happens
if i set a setpoint on the googler nest nothing is recieved on the otgw
also the tempsensor on the nest is not picked up

looks like i get these 2 new error messages.....
Process: Unknown message (BC0710000
Process: Unknown message (B4072000B

if i switch the temp to heat on the Nest Hvac it is responding within a second and the hvac goes on, also directly seen on the otgw
all other sensors like watertemps etc seems OK
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby hvxl » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:42 am

I'm not surprised that a setpoint change on the gateway has no effect on the Nest. But you're saying that it doesn't even report the current setpoint or room temperature via opentherm? That's a pity. Any chance you can upload a log file to the site?

I don't know what you're using to interpret the two messages that produce an error. OTmonitor should correctly handle ID's 113 (Unsuccessful burner starts) and 114 (Flame signal too low count).
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: June 2010

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:53 pm

Ok i will run otmonitor and create a logfile
Ill check my own code on the 113 and 114, i think is miss those codes....
but the messages only appear when i change the thermostat to the Nest, that's strange :)
would be nice to get the Nest running on the OTGW

but not sure i want the use the Nest, i think the display is nice, but not much information on there :(
for example i now have the outside temp on the display, with the Nest i thinks its only on the app, and its a temp from internet.....yeah right
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:45 pm

Hi Schelte,
logfile is uploaded
see below that the OT monitor does not pick up 4 sesnors from the Google Nest V3
Outside temp is filled, this is coming via the Nest which gets it from Internet

Afbeelding 25.jpg
Afbeelding 25.jpg (147.79 KiB) Viewed 8853 times
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby hvxl » Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:07 pm

Thanks. So the Nest indeed doesn't report the room temperature or the setpoint. It also doesn't poll the DHW temperature. (You can add that as an alternative so the OTGW will obtain it, if you like.)

The outside temperature shown on the OTmonitor GUI is not provided by the Nest. Curiously (since you say it doesn't use it) the Nest polls for it and the OTGW then returns the value you have set at some point.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: June 2010

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:39 pm

Ok thanks
do you have an example how to add the 3 (room temp, room setpoint and remote overide setpoint)
checking you site, special data id's ....right
i dont see the roomtemp there

still not sure if i want to use the Google Nest... not convinced yet at all :)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby hvxl » Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:19 pm

My "you can add that" remark only referred to the DHW temperature. Sorry if that wasn't clear. If a thermostat doesn't provide the other values, then there's no way to change that via the opentherm interface.
Schelte
hvxl
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: June 2010

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:52 pm

Ok that is clear now..... thought so
My Google Nest V3 opentherm goes on Marktplaats now :)
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby Dickuk » Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:35 pm

Just seen that Nest have announced a software update on twitter coming in early 2016 to better the modulating side of the unit, hopefully this may give better results.
Dickuk
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: November 2012

Re: New Google Nest has Opentherm

Postby RoelFloor » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:46 pm

I went from exited to 'oh no' in 10 sec.
Shame it is not OT complient.

Maybe update the topic title?
RoelFloor
Starting Member
Starting Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: February 2013

Re: New Google Nest has NO Opentherm

Postby Bwired » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:40 pm

agree and adjusted :D
User avatar
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 5307
Joined: March 2006
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Opentherm Gateway Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest