CO2 Sensors

Pop your questions regarding Home automation Domotica hardware here.....
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:23 am

CO2 Sensors

Post by raymonvdm »

I would like to add an CO2 sensor to my automation setup to measure the air quality in my house but i haven`t found the best unit yet. I have seen there are more people with this question so i decided to create a topic




Carbon Monoxide

Will kill you if it attaches to the oxygen in your blood. There are security sensors to save life, just like smoke sensors

Visonic MCT-442


Carbon Dioxide

Duco Handleiding
Siegenia Sensoair
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
Akatar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:25 am
Location: the netherlands

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by Akatar »

rovinge
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:06 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by rovinge »

freakstar
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:07 pm

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by freakstar »

I own this one, http://www.weetwatumeet.nl/product/1433 ... meter.aspx, with some scripting I was able to get the values in HS3. :)

The disadvantage of this one is that it has to be connected trough USB, so now there is an cable visible trough my livingroom to the hallway... Saw someone who was able to read this meter with a rPi, that would be an nice option to make it wireless.

I really can notice better air quality now I'm beter aware of it!

Here is an interesting topic also: http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/lis ... es/1609383.
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by Bwired »

freakstar wrote:I own this one, http://www.weetwatumeet.nl/product/1433 ... meter.aspx, with some scripting I was able to get the values in HS3. :)
Saw someone who was able to read this meter with a rPi, that would be an nice option to make it wireless.
Nice!
so you read the C02 directly via usb frm the sensor, did you need to give a command to get the readings?
do you have a link of the RPI solution as well?

Thanks Pieter
freakstar
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:07 pm

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by freakstar »

Bwired wrote:
freakstar wrote:I own this one, http://www.weetwatumeet.nl/product/1433 ... meter.aspx, with some scripting I was able to get the values in HS3. :)
Saw someone who was able to read this meter with a rPi, that would be an nice option to make it wireless.
Nice!
so you read the C02 directly via usb frm the sensor, did you need to give a command to get the readings?
do you have a link of the RPI solution as well?

Thanks Pieter
No, there is some software needed, ZG View, got it here: http://www.zyaura.com/support/support_software.htm. It generates an CSV file per day with al the readings in it.

Script I use to get the value in HS3:

Code: Select all

Sub Main(ByVal parm as Object)

	Dim Debug=0
	
	if Debug>0 then
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "Co2 logging activated")
	end if
	
	Dim currentDate As DateTime = DateTime.Now
	Dim devIdCO As String = "522"
	Dim devAddrCO As String = "F9"	
	   
	if Debug>0 then
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "Current: " & currentDate)	
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "Month: " & currentDate.ToString("MM"))
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "Day: " & currentDate.ToString("dd"))
	end if	
	
	Dim fileName = "C:\Users\freakstar\Desktop\ZyAura_USB_HUB_PC_software\" & currentDate.Year & "\" & currentDate.ToString("MM") & "\" & currentDate.ToString("dd") & ".CSV"
	'Dim fileName = "C:\Users\freakstar\Desktop\ZyAura_USB_HUB_PC_software\2015\12\19.CSV"
	
	if Debug>0 then
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "Filename: " & fileName)	
	end if	

	If My.Computer.FileSystem.FileExists(fileName) Then
		Dim line As String = System.IO.File.ReadLines(fileName).Last()
		
		if Debug>0 then
			hs.writelog ("CO2", "Read: "& line)
		end if		

		Dim fields() As String = line.Split(",".ToCharArray())
		Dim fileTime = fields(0)
		Dim fileCO = fields(1)
		Dim fileTemp = fields(2)
		Dim fileHum = fields(3)
			
		if Debug>0 then
			hs.writelog ("CO2", "Time: "& fileTime)
			hs.writelog ("CO2", "CO: "& fileCO)
			hs.writelog ("CO2", "Temp: "& fileTemp)
			hs.writelog ("CO2", "Humidity: "& fileHum)		
		end if	
		
		'Set values
		hs.SetDeviceString(devIdCO, fileCO & " PPM, " & fileTemp & "C, " & fileHum & "% (" & fileTime & ")", True)
		hs.SetDeviceValue(devAddrCO, fileCO)
		
	Else
		hs.writelog ("CO2", "File not found.")
	End If	
	
End Sub
Solution for the rPi: http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/lis ... 9#45211989
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by Bwired »

thanks for the info!
vincenttor
Member
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:45 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by vincenttor »

not sure how the arduino sensors are , but they probably work with the hs3 arduino plugin and are not so expensive
User avatar
simjoc
Member
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by simjoc »

I'm using the Netatmo CO2 sensors. Works perfectly with this plugin.
automatedhomeonline.com/HomeSeer3/hspi_ ... tatmo3.htm

Image
ThinkPad
Member
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 1:49 pm

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by ThinkPad »

Someone at Tweakers.net did an interesting project with a Itho CO2 sensor: https://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/li ... 6#45505066
(It seems to have a header that carries a serial signal, which he reads with a ESP8266).

The topic by itself is also interesting btw.
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by Bwired »

Hi guys
i got in contact with Vladimir :)
check this C02 sensor (update: also with MQTT now)
http://vair.anker-bg.com
http://vair-monitor.com
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281890179126

there is also a version with a small lcd screen

it has got wifi and can upload to a site.
I got in contact with him and he made the upload url flexible so you can upload every x seconds (adjustable)
to for example 192.168.1.10:8080
also you can ask for a nice price and shipping is only around 3 euro.
He made this during a funded Kickstarter, check it out

Im getting 2 pieces soon and will be able to test it
co2 sensor.jpg
co2 sensor.jpg (44.77 KiB) Viewed 29288 times
http://www.bwired.nl Online Home, Domotica, Home Automation. Weblog. http://blog.bwired.nl
raymonvdm
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:23 am

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by raymonvdm »

I also would like to test a unit :-) Did you order the version without display? And is vladimir also a forum member?
Running HS3PRO on PC with Z-Wave / OpenTherm / Plugwise / RFXcom / MQTT / XAP400 / Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite on PI`s
Bwired
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4704
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by Bwired »

With display and wifi, no he is not a member yet, but mail him and mention me, then he knows which version firmware etc.
vlast3k
Starting Member
Starting Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by vlast3k »

Hi,
I am the producer of the "v.Air - CO2 Monitor". (@Pieter, thank you for posting about my device!)
If you would like to order devices - just send me a PM. On the page above you can find some more details and prices of the devices. Also you can have a look on the kickstarter campaign for the motivation of building the device.

If you have any questions (or even better - feature requests) - I will be happy to answer

Regards, Vladimir
stefxx
Advanced Member
Advanced Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:26 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: CO2 Sensors

Post by stefxx »

Hi Vladimir!

Great project, nice CO2 meters. I might order one soon. One question: how accurate are your sensors (how are they calibrated)?

Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “Questions & Discussions Forum”